Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I loved this and it came out great, but we like steak really rare, so what I did was sear two filets in a tablespoon of very hot oil for three minutes on each side, then let it cool before wrapping in the pastry. After that, I cooked it for 25 minutes as instructed and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Wow! This was so good. Very easy and not too time consuming. Very fancy presentation. I omitted the pate, since most said that it was overpowering. I think next time I will add some spices though. We will surely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I made this recipe the other night for my husband. We both loved it! I used two individual filets. This was quick and easy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I made this with two individual filets for my husband and me. We both really enjoyed it. We did not get the overly pate taste that some of the other reviewers complained about. The only difficulty that I encountered was the seams on the pastry separated while baking. I thought that I had sealed them well. If anyone has any suggestions as to how to get the seams to stay sealed, I would appreciate hearing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! I made a suprise dinner for my English boyfriend and he loved it. I did not use pate, rather I added more butter, mushrooms and garlic. I also used an excellent cut of filet mignon. As mentioned by another cook, remember to use a wire rack to keep juices from soaking the bottom of the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Excellent recipie! Thanks alot, my english boyfriend loved it! I made it for 2, so I asked my butcher for the cooking time on a smaller piece (500g/1.1 pounds) I browned the meat then baked for 25 mins and rested for 10. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Thanks Normala for this recipe. It was a big success on New Year's eve for our party of six. I made individual portions and used the left over pastry to make initials for each portion. My guests were all impressed and loved it. My British guests said it's better then what they had back home in the fancy hotels. I used store bought pork pate and it turned out really well, adds another layer of flavour. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this dish for Christmas and I was a bit nervous because everyone responds to Beef Wellington like it's some kind of super difficult Moby Dick type of meal. I loved this recipe! It came out perfect and was so easy to make. Easier than any turkey, duck or prime rib I've ever made for a holiday meal. I will caution those of you who don't like pate. If you don't like it, don't use it. The flavor of the pate was very prominent, which was fine by me because I like pate. I only made one adaptation ... I used individual fillet mignons because I made it for two people. Other than that it was perfect. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Sharon Mays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I have made this several times and I have found use single filets. Much better in the end. I have found most people do not prefer the pate part so I substitute finely ground mushrooms/onions/garlic which works very nice. Also use pastry dough, I couldn't find it either first time. I finally found it in the frozen food isle on the bottom of the cooler in the frozen pie crust area. It will usually be in a long box. Much easier to work with than regular dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States