Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have made this along with Yorkshire Pudding,Baked Potatoes & Mix Vegtables on A Submarine. I was A Navy Cook(Retired Now)Feeding 140 Men. Let me tell you this IF done right its A 5 Star Meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
When looking for a recipe for Beef Wellington, I came across this one. Having read several rave reviews I decided to use it for a special birthday menu. Based on recommendations made in the reviews, I chose to make the individual Wellingtons, and after a trial run, in which the meat was overdone, decided to alter the cook time. So...I cooked 9 individual Wellingtons at 450F for 6 min. and then at 400F for 10 min. The pastry was beautifully golden, and the filet was lovely and pink, It worked perfectly. I highly recommend it. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe! Made this for my Dad on Father's Day. Dad will subject the family to hours of scouring foreign cities in hopes of finding a beef wellington on the menu, so I knew this would be the perfect meal. He was amazed that I would actually attempt to make this since it is a bit labour intensive and raved for days on end how great dinner was. Suggestion: Place a thick slice of pate on top of beef filets instead of mixing the pate with butter and coating the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
To do over and over again. Great taste, rich and luxurious way to prepare a small roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I tried this recipe for my mom for Mother's Day-its her favorite. I've never made it OR tasted it before. I used a bigger (3 1/2 lb.) tenderloin and increased the initial baking time by 10 min. and last baking time by 5 min. It turned out perfect! I seasoned the meat before baking and used a pate made from liverwurst(a recipe can be found on this site, but I used onion powder instead of chopped onions)-I found it did not take over the flavor of the beef-everyone agreed it added to it. I also added the red wine to the mushroom/onion mixture like others on the site. I forgot to buy beef broth but I had some powdered beef boullion & used that instead--I added some seasoning to it and it was really good. All in all, the meal turned out phenomenal--my mother said it was better than the restaurant she goes to and my father, children and husband LOVED it. The only thing I would've done different is make this into individual pieces due to it slightly falling apart when sliced. This recipe is to die for! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because I just don't like pate. I know that pate is standard with Beef Wellington, and I hoped my taste had changed, unfortunately, no chance. We scraped the pate off the leftovers and made sandwiches the next day...now those were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was FABULOUS. I have never had, nor made Beef Wellington before - but what I made tonight turned out stunning and there were raves all around. I used Sirloin instead of fillet minion - for budgetary concerns - I also took the advice of post reviewer and used a home made pesto instead of the pate. One more thing - we cut the meat into individual serving sizes before wrapping them up into their won pastries - and it turned out superb. i would and will totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
great reliable recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a very good recipe, but I prefer my filet mignon with a different sauce. I placed my wellingtons on a rack which made a huge difference because the whole thing was nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This fell apert on me, but that was my fault - I didnt wrap them properly. It all tasted good - the meat was cooked perfect medium rare, but a steak pie would have similar and would be much easier to make. One to impress for a special occasion but I couldn't make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States