Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
this recipe was great - taste was incredible and it was actually rather simple. Any mistakes I made were truly self-inflicted. I pulled out the puff pastry to thaw MUCH sooner than I should have, so it was a little harder to work with that I had anticipated. Also, I used a rack as suggested, but the rack I used was slanted, not flat. Next time I will use the flat rack to make this easier to transfer to the serving plate. Again, all these issues were my own fault. I think next time I will use this recipe but make individual servings instead of the 'loaf'. Thanks for a great Valentine's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
O.K. Lets get something straight here. Unless you live near a deli good pate' in the US is rare. The only thing I could find near me was a can of pork pate' made by Underwood. Those wonderful people that brought us canned deviled ham. (UGH!) Try typing in "Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver" for pate' and it will give you alot better results. Also, tell your butcher, if you have one, what your doing, it doesn't have to be a tenderloin if there is a real butcher near you. I got away with a very good cut of porterhouse with his tenderizer method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Mahaffey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious! Instead of the rather simple wine sauce in the recipe I made a Madeira sauce to go with the wellington. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriFur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This as wonderful. I used individual Filet Mignon to serve 4 people (1 lb). Since I did this for an elegant dinner each person had a 4 oz piece. Good for portion controllers too! This is what I did a little differently: I did not bake the steak. Instead, I seared it 2 minutes on each side on high heat on a skillet with the butter. Instead of using pastry sheets, I used puff pastry SHELLS. I placed the steak on a middle of the cookie sheet and had the shells surrounding it. Baked everything at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. I let everything cool for 5 minutes and then cut each filet in half. Thsi gave me 4 pieces, around 4 oz each. I then plated in this order: pastry shell at the bottom, filet, mushroom mixture, pate, pastry shell. This not only kept the pastry crispy but it was also more beautiful, I think, than wrapping it with pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent - perfect for the romantic meal I cooked for my boyfriend. Thanks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Made this today for a variant on the traditional Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it! It was so easy to prepare and didn't take a lot of time. Though I spent a good deal for the meat, I had simple sides that ended up going very well with the richness of the Wellington. I prepared my side and the Beef Wellington all in one pan which made for easier clean-up and less oven time. Here's what I did: I cut 2 1/2 to 3 lbs. potatoes into chunks, sliced two red peppers and some fresh asparagus, added six cloves of crushed garlic. I tossed this altogether then spread in a 9 x 13 baking dish. I let this bake at 450 while I was preparing the Wellington. I then took the veggie dish from the oven, placed a small wire rack directly on top of the veggies and placed my fully prepared meat on top of that. I had already browned the meat the recommended 10 minutes, so I just let this bake 10 minutes more. After this, I removed the dish, placed the Wellington in the center of a large platter, then put all the roasted veggies around it. It was very pretty and took less room on the table. This timetable produced a rare center which was very tender and tasty. I took the advice of one reviewer and marinaded my beef in balsamic vinagrette. Though this is an expensive dish, it is well worth it for very special occasions and when you really want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fantastic, got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this for a dinner party and it was a hit. Omitted the Pate and used pesto recipe shown by MRSMAC8 on April 5, 2004. It was wonderful. I did cook the meet a little longer without the Puff Pastry and then a little longer when I added the puff pastry (use a meat thermometer). One hint, don't cover it while warm the pastry will tend to get soggy. Will make it for Christmas dinner this year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I added too much dough. Next time only one sleeve of the phillo dough. The beef needs to cook just a little bit longer for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli Lassiter-Vering

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used this for leftover beef tenderloin. Used liverwurst with no butter, instead of liver pate and butter. Did not make wine/beef broth mixture. Turned out tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States