Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!! Just some tips to improve: ° There's no need to mix butter with pate. Puff pastry has enough ;-) ° Cubed mushrooms to make it easy to slice when serving. ° Don't put filet on the oven, brown it instead over a hot thick grill, making one turn only for each side. The purpose of this step is seal the juices inside the loin, should not take more than 5 minutes to avoid cooking the meat. Remove from grill, and allow to cool completely. Deglasé grill with a little red wine, reserve. ° Assemble a rack over a jelly roll pan and place the roll over to bake to prevent juices make the pastry soggy in the bottom. ° Final Note: Oven MUST be preheated before putting the roll in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My partner and I thought this was fantastic. We both love meals that look fancy but when you get down to it aren't really that difficult, step-by-step. However, we did make a substitution, we're not big mushroom fans so I changed them with cashews and it turned our fantastic! If mushrooms are stopping you from making this then go for cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somthinclever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Eh. My family did not care for this dish. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rightwing
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Made this yesterday for our 13th Wedding anniversary and it was a hit! My wife adored the Beef Wellington and me. As with other reviewers I did use Filet Mignon verses the tenderloin. This is an awesome meal that you can adapt to your tastes easily. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rightwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Tried this for the first time on Easter BRunch...it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I have tried this with both the pastry puff and philo and the puff is definately better. I also used a substitution on the pate since my family is picky. I used garlic, onion, red and green pepper, basil, parsley and parm cheese mixed with olive oil and a little s/p. Came out tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was disappointed with the end result flavour of this recipe. I should have taken the advice given by some and omitted the pate/butter mixture and replaced it with something that had more zing. I even lit my tenderloin with cognac after I seared it.....it just seemed to be missing something in the flavour department. I much prefer Chateaubriand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this for my mom for her birthday and it was wonderful! It was a bit bland for me and I didn't use liver pate, but used pesto as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Excellent flavor - all components worked well together! The only problem is that my cut of tenderloin was very thick and did not cook in the time specified - even though we prefer rare meat, this was completely raw. I plan to try longer in the oven bag next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Fantastic! Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States