Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was wonderful! I was looking for a recipe just like this for making freezer meals. I used chuck steak which worked great. The gravy was rich and flavorful. Also served it over mashed potatoes - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was easy and good. It was a bit on the salty side so I might look for a low sodium gravy mix next time. We did use low sodium soy already. Added fresh mushrooms and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I also used the crockpot, making this an easy weeknight meal. I did not add salt or use the vegetable oil. I used a total of 1/4 cup of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce mixed together and about 1 cup of water. I cooked at low for 8 hours and then mixed the gravy mix with 1/2 cup water and stirred it in. The gravy was not quite as thick as I liked, so I mixed a little corn starch with water and stirred it in and it thickened up perfectly. The family said they really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Petruzzelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I always love the soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce combo. You can never go wrong with it. It makes a fantastic gravy. So I knew right away this would be a hit! We served ours with mashed potatoes and veggies. I also eliminated the salt. There is also no need to cook that long, 30 min TOPS. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallaceburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Like all of the above comments, there is entirely too much salt in this dish. The next time i make it, i will not put any additional salt in. The Soy Sauce is full of Sodium, and secondly, you can always add salt to it as you eat it. Other than the Salt issue, this was an excellent recipe, the beef turned out tender. I used Egg Noodles with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
5 star with modifications - only used beef broth and red wine for sauce - no soy sauce or worchestershire sauce. Sauteed garlic with the onion, browned meat, and then threw in slow cooker for a couple hours. Added cornstarch at the end to thicken a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Well, I guess I'll add MY 2 cents to the 457 reviews... LOL So many said it was too salty that I used low sodium soy sauce, low sodium gravy mix, and omitted the salt. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. My cut of meat was "steak tips" which was all they had at the store that day, and were long pieces that I cut up. I do want to note that it took almost the entire 2 hours to become fork-tender. Other reviewers indicate that their meat was tender after an hour or an hour and a half. It really depends on the meat, so have patience if yours is taking a little longer. All of a sudden it will just be really tender!!! Also, because of all the low-sodium things I used, I actually had to ADD a little salt at the end!!!! But that is better than having it be too salty. Anyway, end result is 5+ stars and a great big thank you for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My family and friends really enjoyed this recipe. I had to make some adjustments because I didn't have all the ingredients and was short on time so I couldn't run out to get the missing things. I used the basic seasonings in Worcestershire sauce because we didn't have any. I made 4 lbs. because we were having several guests. All in all, it was worth the little effort! Thanks to denisef for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAMENASHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband called it "Excellent" - more than once!! I loved it too. I basically followed the recipe but halved the recipe. Floured meat before browning. Used low sodium soy sauce and jarred minced garlic. Omitted salt. Added 1/3 cup of 2% milk toward the end of cooking time. NO corn starch needed. The amount of cooking time really depends on the quality of the beef. I had to cook mine longer than called for; I guess the stew meat from my grocery was not from the most tender cuts. These are really minor personal preferrance changes; this is a 5-star recipe! No canned soup involved! Served over Mahatma yellow rice with a salad, and white bread to sop up the gravy. Next time, I will make biscuits to go with it. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States