Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this recipe totally vegan. I was having a difficult time finding a good "beefy" gravy recipe and used this one. I added mushrooms and used veggie broth instead of water. I did not add salt. I used "Gardein Beefless Tips", which are yummy. I added flour and water to thicken the gravy and added two jars of mushroom gravy. I also added a few teaspoons of "Gravy Master". Added a little margarine for a bit of fat. Although I have not eaten meat in over 20 years, this reminded me of REAL gravy. If that makes sense. Good Luck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good. A bit salty but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Mostly followed the directions but ommitted salt and used beef broth instead of water per reviews. Added a little cooking Sherry. Simmered for about an hour. Maybe I should have used the salt per the original recipe as this was just bland and I tend to buy low sodium items. I used Omaha Steaks sirloin tips so it wasn't the quality of the meat. Probably won't make again. I'm used to getting "wows" and "yums" at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I added a can of cream of mushroom and wow i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tin_knocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These were so tender. I did make a few changes but nothing that I think changes the flavor of the meal. I just used garlic instead of garlic powder and I used a TBS. I did not add the salt or the extra cup of water. I like a thicker sauce. I added a little flour at the end to thicken the sauce up to what I like. I added a can of mushrooms in when I added the dry gravy mix. I cooked mine for an hour and half, that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
THIS WENT OVER WELL WITH MY FAMILY!THEY DEVOURED IT...LOL I THREW IT IN THE CROCK POT AND LET IT COOK ON LOW ALL DAY! EASY AND VERY TASTY! INSTEAD OF WATER I USED BEEF BROTH ADDED FROZEN VEGGIES AND AT THE END THREW IN SOME FRESH MUSHROOMS! THIS MADE A NICE WEEKNIGHT MEAL I SERVED THIS OVER BROWN RICE AND A NICE PIECE OF CORNBREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is one of my families favorite. However, instead of garlic powder I use 2 cloves of fresh garlic, and I do omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this tonight... But I too changed a few things. I floured my beef (seasoned flour with pepper only) I also added sliced baby potabella mushrooms. I also did not add soy and only a dash of worchestershire sauce (too keep from being too salty) I also used reduced sodium gravy mix for the same reason. After I browned the beef I added 1/4 cup red wine to deglaze pot. I also added cream of mushroom soup and unsalted beef stock (not broth) to cook the meat mixture. Then the last 30 mins i used 1/4 cup of heavy cream and the gravy mix, and because I had some tyme on hand I added it too. It came out so good! This is a very good base recipe to make your own! Thanks for the recipe denisef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe. I throw all of the ingredients in the crockpot and cook it for the day. Then I shake some milk and flour in a bowl with a lid and add it at the end to thicken it. No need to brown the meat either. Just throw everything in the crockpot set it and forget it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Our dinner was just great. We used beef tips. Tender and succulent. Robust flavor. We followed the recipe mostly, but I prefer seasoned not salty and avoid gravy packets. After following the wise advice of other reviewers,I sauteed garlic with the onions rather than using garlic powder. Andsubstitited beef broth and a 1/4 of red wine for the 2 C water. I simmered for 1 hour, then rather then adding the gravy packt I used 1/2 C. water and 1 Tbs cornstarch. (On the side we sauteed mushrooms for the top) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy and the Moonpies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States