Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very good the whole family loved it I will include this in my menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The roommate has multiple food allergies so I have to adapt almost every recipe to some extent. Cornstarch is definitely out. I did find some gravy mix made in the UK that is safe and, because I used that, I did not add any salt to the rest of the dish. Otherwise, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
previous reviewers are right! This is SALTY!! I'm a salt-a-holic - I mean, I sprinkle salt on my plate and dip my meat in it. Yeah, I love salt. So I opted to ignore reviewer advice and not cut out salt.... And that was a bad mistake! It's waaaaay tooo salty! My 5 year old son thanked me for his salt dinner. Yeah, it was that bad. Aside from the salt, it was great. I used fresh mushrooms & garlic. And I cut out 1 1/4 cups of water, and used 1/4 cup merlot. I also added some frozen peas & carrots when I added the gravy mixture. I also added a T of cornstarch to help it thicken. I served it over white rice. I will make it again, but I will leave out the extra salt AND use low-sodium soy sauce. In hindsight, maybe it was the cup less of water that amplified the salt??? But it didn't need more liquid - there was plenty of gravy to feed my family of 5, with leftovers for Daddy to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was wonderful! I was looking for a recipe just like this for making freezer meals. I used chuck steak which worked great. The gravy was rich and flavorful. Also served it over mashed potatoes - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was easy and good. It was a bit on the salty side so I might look for a low sodium gravy mix next time. We did use low sodium soy already. Added fresh mushrooms and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I also used the crockpot, making this an easy weeknight meal. I did not add salt or use the vegetable oil. I used a total of 1/4 cup of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce mixed together and about 1 cup of water. I cooked at low for 8 hours and then mixed the gravy mix with 1/2 cup water and stirred it in. The gravy was not quite as thick as I liked, so I mixed a little corn starch with water and stirred it in and it thickened up perfectly. The family said they really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Petruzzelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I always love the soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce combo. You can never go wrong with it. It makes a fantastic gravy. So I knew right away this would be a hit! We served ours with mashed potatoes and veggies. I also eliminated the salt. There is also no need to cook that long, 30 min TOPS. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallaceburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Like all of the above comments, there is entirely too much salt in this dish. The next time i make it, i will not put any additional salt in. The Soy Sauce is full of Sodium, and secondly, you can always add salt to it as you eat it. Other than the Salt issue, this was an excellent recipe, the beef turned out tender. I used Egg Noodles with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
5 star with modifications - only used beef broth and red wine for sauce - no soy sauce or worchestershire sauce. Sauteed garlic with the onion, browned meat, and then threw in slow cooker for a couple hours. Added cornstarch at the end to thicken a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States