Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I followed the receipe except that I used my 3-n-1 Ninja, I was able to cook it longer without burning it . I made egg noodles and Hushpuppy Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I made this tonight...according to other reviews I made this in the crock-pot and omitted the salt. I had to make a few changes. I did omit the additional salt because I felt the soy sauce and Worcestershire were enough and I am glad I did. I did not have the gravy mix, but I still wanted a more gravy like consistency so I added a can of mushroom soup. When I got home, there was a layer of grease on top and it was very watery (soupy). I added a can of cream of chicken soup and made a slurry to make it thicker. The cream of chicken soup was the kicker...added a great taste. However, I would use a chuck roast instead of stew meat (stew meat seemed to disintegrate into almost nothing.. omit the vegetable oil..the meat gave enough grease in the crock-pot. I really like the added cream soups...gave it flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUL1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Loved it! I did everything the recipe called for but I didn't have time to cook it for two hours. Mine cooked 40 mins and was very tasty. My kids didn't even notice the onions since they were so translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
please follow everybody else's advice on alternate methods for decreasing the amount of salt. I wish I did. I followed the recipe and it was wayyyy to salty. I had to cut it by adding a can of cream of mushroom. its good and meat is tender just way to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Took others advice and limited the salt. As for any recipe taste test for seasoning if you unsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
The stew beef is like rubber, the gravy did not set up until after adding cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This was delicious! Easy, but so much flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Very good dish. I didn't add the additional salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very salty. I think using low sodium soy sauce and low sodium gravy would help this. I simmered the beef for an hour and added water to it to keep it covered. I added the packet of gravy with 2 Tbsp. Of water and simmered 30 min longer. The flavor of this recipe is very good. Next time I will make this with the above notes and in the crockpot. Cooking in thr crockpot will make the meat much more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My large family of all ages loved it. I too put in crock pot. 4-5hrs high, for 4 hrs then low. Didn't sauté onions, just threw in crock pot. I used veg broth( didn't have beef broth) for water. Used LOW sodium soy. I did need to transfer to large pot at end to bring to boil to get gravy to thicken, actually had to use cornstarch/water to thicken, even after brown gravy pkg. sure will make this a repeat. Used mashed potatoes instead of noodles. What a great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States