Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Like all of the above comments, there is entirely too much salt in this dish. The next time i make it, i will not put any additional salt in. The Soy Sauce is full of Sodium, and secondly, you can always add salt to it as you eat it. Other than the Salt issue, this was an excellent recipe, the beef turned out tender. I used Egg Noodles with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
5 star with modifications - only used beef broth and red wine for sauce - no soy sauce or worchestershire sauce. Sauteed garlic with the onion, browned meat, and then threw in slow cooker for a couple hours. Added cornstarch at the end to thicken a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Well, I guess I'll add MY 2 cents to the 457 reviews... LOL So many said it was too salty that I used low sodium soy sauce, low sodium gravy mix, and omitted the salt. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. My cut of meat was "steak tips" which was all they had at the store that day, and were long pieces that I cut up. I do want to note that it took almost the entire 2 hours to become fork-tender. Other reviewers indicate that their meat was tender after an hour or an hour and a half. It really depends on the meat, so have patience if yours is taking a little longer. All of a sudden it will just be really tender!!! Also, because of all the low-sodium things I used, I actually had to ADD a little salt at the end!!!! But that is better than having it be too salty. Anyway, end result is 5+ stars and a great big thank you for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My family and friends really enjoyed this recipe. I had to make some adjustments because I didn't have all the ingredients and was short on time so I couldn't run out to get the missing things. I used the basic seasonings in Worcestershire sauce because we didn't have any. I made 4 lbs. because we were having several guests. All in all, it was worth the little effort! Thanks to denisef for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAMENASHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband called it "Excellent" - more than once!! I loved it too. I basically followed the recipe but halved the recipe. Floured meat before browning. Used low sodium soy sauce and jarred minced garlic. Omitted salt. Added 1/3 cup of 2% milk toward the end of cooking time. NO corn starch needed. The amount of cooking time really depends on the quality of the beef. I had to cook mine longer than called for; I guess the stew meat from my grocery was not from the most tender cuts. These are really minor personal preferrance changes; this is a 5-star recipe! No canned soup involved! Served over Mahatma yellow rice with a salad, and white bread to sop up the gravy. Next time, I will make biscuits to go with it. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this recipe totally vegan. I was having a difficult time finding a good "beefy" gravy recipe and used this one. I added mushrooms and used veggie broth instead of water. I did not add salt. I used "Gardein Beefless Tips", which are yummy. I added flour and water to thicken the gravy and added two jars of mushroom gravy. I also added a few teaspoons of "Gravy Master". Added a little margarine for a bit of fat. Although I have not eaten meat in over 20 years, this reminded me of REAL gravy. If that makes sense. Good Luck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good. A bit salty but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Mostly followed the directions but ommitted salt and used beef broth instead of water per reviews. Added a little cooking Sherry. Simmered for about an hour. Maybe I should have used the salt per the original recipe as this was just bland and I tend to buy low sodium items. I used Omaha Steaks sirloin tips so it wasn't the quality of the meat. Probably won't make again. I'm used to getting "wows" and "yums" at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I added a can of cream of mushroom and wow i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tin_knocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States