Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this tonight... But I too changed a few things. I floured my beef (seasoned flour with pepper only) I also added sliced baby potabella mushrooms. I also did not add soy and only a dash of worchestershire sauce (too keep from being too salty) I also used reduced sodium gravy mix for the same reason. After I browned the beef I added 1/4 cup red wine to deglaze pot. I also added cream of mushroom soup and unsalted beef stock (not broth) to cook the meat mixture. Then the last 30 mins i used 1/4 cup of heavy cream and the gravy mix, and because I had some tyme on hand I added it too. It came out so good! This is a very good base recipe to make your own! Thanks for the recipe denisef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe. I throw all of the ingredients in the crockpot and cook it for the day. Then I shake some milk and flour in a bowl with a lid and add it at the end to thicken it. No need to brown the meat either. Just throw everything in the crockpot set it and forget it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Our dinner was just great. We used beef tips. Tender and succulent. Robust flavor. We followed the recipe mostly, but I prefer seasoned not salty and avoid gravy packets. After following the wise advice of other reviewers,I sauteed garlic with the onions rather than using garlic powder. Andsubstitited beef broth and a 1/4 of red wine for the 2 C water. I simmered for 1 hour, then rather then adding the gravy packt I used 1/2 C. water and 1 Tbs cornstarch. (On the side we sauteed mushrooms for the top) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy and the Moonpies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight served over egg noodles. The only change I made was to omit the salt and simmered about 3 hours because I got side tracked. Smelled really good while cooking, meat was fork tender and I enjoyed the bite from the amount of pepper in there. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I've made this several times. Very good recipe! I tweaked it like everyone else! I don't really measure ingredients at all, just eyeball it and pour/toss it in. I used a can of beef broth and a cup of water, a larger can of mushroom pieces, added about a half cup of sliced celery, a larger chopped onion, about half a teaspoon each of thyme and sage, a little less of the soy sauce and worstershire, and added 2 envelopes of the brown gravy mix right at the beginning and cooked on the stove for around 2 1/2 hours on simmer. The meat is fall-apart tender and if the gravy is not thick enough, add another envelope of gravy mix (I like lots of gravy!). I also love the idea of adding sour cream to it at the end (have done that, too!). Make it YOURS! You can and add chopped green pepper, a can of squished whole tomatoes, jalapenos..... the list goes on!!! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this as directed . The meat was tender after 1 1/4 hrs of cooking . However , when adding the packet of gravy and water , I cooked it for 10 mins . more , and it did not thicken to my liking . Had to add a slurry of cornstarch and water , and cook 10 more mins. The sauce was too salty , and had too much pepper . If I were to make again , it would be with a lot of tweaking . Sorry .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Great flavor. Just too salty (and I love salt!). Served over mashed potatoes - so yummy. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Tweaked the recipe a bit. I added minced garlic & mushrooms while browning meat Also black pepper. Added 1 can beef broth, cut 2 cups water to 3/4 & added 1/4 cup red wine. cut soy sauce & Worcestershire sauce to 1/8 cup each. Omited salt & before serving thickened juice w/corn starch to make gravy. Turned out perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I agree that this is a good base recipe, but if you want it less salty here are my suggestions. Cut the soy sauce and worchestershire sauce by half and add 1/4 cup of good red wine. Also, adding beef broth will just make it more salty. I added 1 glove chopped garlic instead of garlic powder; adjust according to your taste. I also added dry porticini mushrooms versus canned. Even though the recipe didn't call for mushrooms it balances the flavor. Try 1 package of mushroom gravy insted of brown gravy...a lot less sodium. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This recipe is a family favorite. It is so easy to make and tastes heavenly! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States