Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I have made this several times. It's one of my and my husband's favorite. I use minced garlic instead of the powder and sauté it with the onion. Also I find that 1 1/2 hours is enough cooking time. I also only use 1/2 cup of water with the brown gravy or it comes out to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
this recipe was super easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I would suggest less pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This was good but way too salty and I have even cut the salt back to half a teaspoon. Next time I think I would leave it out. I did like the flavor of the meal and everyone ate it but it was just too much salt. I had even cut back on the pepper and garlic half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Great recipe. I did make a few changes based on comments. I used Guidry's instead of of the onion (Guidry's creole mix is onions, green onions, bell pepper, celery, garlic, & parsley), used a little extra garlic, added no salt, added extra pepper, added fresh sliced mushrooms, and instead of the small gravy packet (.75 oz) I used Pioneer which comes in a 1.6 ounce size. I did not mix the gravy packet with water; I whisked it in dry. Husband ate two large plates. It's going on the menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is definitely a recipe that you will make again and again. My family and I absolutely love it! I learned after the first time I made it that it was too salty (even for me!) and so the last time I made it I omitted the salt and used low sodium soy sauce and gravy mixes. Much better when I made it that way. I find it does not thicken up the way that I would like so next time (which there definitely will be) I'm going to try the suggestion given in the top rated review by Corina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Read all the reviews and decided to take Corrina's advise (the Most Helpful Positive Review). I used 1 cup of beef broth and 1 cup Merlot instead of 2 cups water. I also started off with 2 lbs of sirloin and used 2 brown gravy packs straight into the pot without mixing. My wife told me this is why she married me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great, easy recipe! Like everyone else, I made a few changes: added a few handfuls of baby carrots and did not use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Here Is what I did: I coated the beef with flour and browned in a Dutch oven. I saute'd the onions in a separate pan while the beef was browning. I added the onions to the beef when the meat was browned and stirred. I poured 2 cups of water along with the 1/4 soy (low sodium) and 1/4 Worcestershire and 1 Tbl spoon of minced garlic to pot. I put about 15 turns of fresh pepper from a grinder into the pot. Brought it to a boil then simmer for 1 hour. I DID NOT ADD ANY SALT. I can see how regular soy could make this salty so use low sodium soy. While simmering I took the beef gravy packet with 1 cup of water and 1 Tbl spoon of corn starch I and put into a jar with a lid and shook up. I boiled the noodles (I used Amish egg noodles) as directed while the meat mix was simmering. After 1 hour I poured the gravy mix into the meat mixture and stirred and simmered for an additional 20 -30 minutes. When the noodles were done I added them to the meat mixture and stirred well and served. The meat was amazingly tender and the sauce was rich and thick. This turned out AWESOME. THIS WILL GO ON MY FAVORITES LIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJ
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Tastes good and it was easy for me. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States