Beef Tips and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe! I did mine in the crock-pot and it turn out wonderful! I used 3 cans of cream of mushroom soup (healthy request), 1 packet of beef onion soup mix, 1 cup milk, and 1 cup water and fresh button mushrooms. I put everything together and popped it in the crockpot for 8 hours, and the meat was falling apart. Also I cooked the noodles aldente and then threw them in the crockpot for the last 10 or so minutes. The noodles soaked up the sauce and it was wonderful! Loved this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe is delicious and is great as is. However, this time I decided to do things somewhat differently. I love garlic and onions, so I added one tablespoon diced garlic and a small onion, chopped. I make the cream of mushroom soup using 1/2 can of milk, then add the onion soup mix and a little more water than called for. I also add about a tablespoon of concentrated beef broth. I added the onions, garlic, and mushrooms to the mixture and than poured over the meat. I have plenty of sauce to mix in with the noodles this way. Just a suggestion for those of you who said you didn't have enough gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
723 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This has made its way into the weekly rotation in my house, but I did make a few changes. I use stew beef and season it with onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper. I brown it in olive oil before it goes in the oven. For the sauce, I use a can of cream of mushroom mixed with an equal amount of milk, an envelope of beefy onion, and a package of brown gravy mix. The milk gives me twice as much sauce, and the gravy mix thickens it up. It also seems to dilute the salt, because I haven't had any issues with it being too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a long time favorite of my family. We usually add more meat, and use 1/2 cup of red wine in place of the cup of water. Better when cooked at a lower temp for a long period of time (preheat oven to 375 and then turn down to 250 and cook for several hours). Perfect slow cooker recipe - can be left on low all day long! Try serving over rice, rather than the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This recipe is THE BOMB!!! Not only did my husband love it, but my sister's husband loved it as well. I took the advice to use fresh mushrooms sauted in butter & garlic, browned the meat, then threw everything into the crock pot to simmer for about 5 hours. The meat was SO tender & flavorful...I could eat this stuff forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This ia a Great recipe. It is so simple. I cut up Round steak (extra). I simmered the Round steak with chopped up onions. I added extra cream of mushroom soup (2 cans) because the last time I made it I ended up covering it half way through cooking. Also it made more to go with the 16oz bag of noodles I cooked. I used a can of milk instead of water and added sliced fresh mushrooms rather then canned. Served it with biscuits. My husband Loved it. YUMMY !!! Next time I make it it will be half the onion soup mix (Onion soup mix is very salty) Thank you for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This was a good hearty meal. Rather than using canned mushrooms that taste like a can I cut up about 6oz of fresh. Instead of an entire packet of Onion soup mix I used all the onions and half the seasoning...that would have been a little salty. I browned the beef tips with a little butter and the soup mix in my pressure cooker, then added the remaining ingredients, put the lid on and cooked for 30 min. The beef couldn't have been more tender, and my husband loved it. I'd rather not heat the house with the oven...if ya know what I mean, plus this was quicker, and probably more tender. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe was really good. My husband and I made it tonight and he found it a bit salty. We added a bit of sour cream and mixed it in....that helped cut the salt and added some savory richness to the dish. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I hate to rate this after the changes I made, but I have been looking for a decent beef tips and noodles recipe for so long now and am elated to have finally found it. So even though this recipe was a starting point for me, it deserves credit. I took lots of suggestions from others too. Browned stew meat (bite-size pieces), seasoned with pepper, onion and garlic powder. I doubled the recipe, so used 1 can of cr of mush and 1 can of golden mush. 2 cups of beef stock for the water, 1/2 packet of the soup mix plus some real onion (to avoid being too salty). Added maybe a tsp of Kitchen Bouquet, couple splashes of Worsey, 1/4 tsp dried mustard. Deglazed skillet with beef stock. All into crock pot for 4 hours. In the last hour, added the mushrooms and 2-3 pinches of basil (remember to crush between fingers while adding). At the end, 2T cornstarch in a bit of cold beef stock to thicken gravy (leave lid off, 30 mins). Total cook time in crock on High, 4.5 hours. Made 3/4 bag (about 12 oz) of egg noodles and ran a little short, so use a whole 16oz bag for a double batch. Overall, it was perfect! My guys ate this stuff up! Thanks for the recipe and to everyone for all of the added tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This was a wonderful recipe! We added 1 celery stalk chopped into the mixture and since I have never been a fan of egg noodles nor beef strognaff, we served over brown rice, which is a very nice taste. Needless to say, I am going to have to double the recipe next time as my family devoured the meal. Since I have made this a couple times already, some nice side dishes to this, which are also found on this site include Baked Vegetables or Honey Roasted Red Potatoes. Thank you for a great mix-and-go recipe Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States