Beef Tips and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe was made by my Mom back in the 30's right through the late 80's when she passed away. She made the recipe in a pot on top of the stove and it was called, "POTTED BEEF". All the ingredients are the same with the exception, Mom used sliced onion's also. The gravy was thickened with a rue. I love this meal, easy, tasty and it use to be a cheap meal back in the old days. Thanks for the revised method of cooking potted beef. It makes me want to cook this again after the absence for so many years. Mrs. G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe is very good. I've been making this for a couple years now and everyone loves it. Prep is simple and dinner is in about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe and works well in the crock pot too. I just put all of the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook on low all day. Dinner is on the table quickly when I get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Yes I did it in the crock pot using red wine vs the water. Made it for Christmas dinner ( just 3 of us) made a favorite corn bread as a go along. Spooned over buttered noodles it was terrific. This will be a favorite go to dinner. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is a tasty dish. I did sauté onions with the beef to brown the meat before baking. Adding 1/2 c wine gives it a great flavor, too. This is quick to assemble and smells great while cooking. Once it is in the oven, you can adjust the temperature to allow baking for as long as you need. You can start it baking at 375* and turn it down to 300* ; let it cook for 2 hours, if you need the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Good, but with a couple of changes, great! PLEASE use Golden Mushroom soup instead -- it makes all the difference -- along with fresh mushrooms sauteed with garlic and onions. If you want to enhance just a bit more, try a little sherry and catsup. It's a good basic recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is one of our favorite dishes. I add a little cooking wine and worcestershire sauce. There are never left overs in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is a great cheap meal, when the only thing in the freezer is ground meat (beef or venison), I substitute that for the beef tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Love this one. I used fresh sauteed mushrooms as I had them on hand and skipped the salty onion soup (blood pressure). I subbed in dried onion and a low salt bouillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I have been making a recipe very similar to this for many years and my kids LOVE it. My family doesn't like mushrooms, so I don't add the can of mushrooms. (They don't fuss about the mushroom soup anymore, but when they were younger I would blend the soup to get rid of the chunks.) I usually fill the soup can about 3/4 full of milk instead of using water, and sometimes throw in a chunk of butter just to round everything out. Also, I always make this in the crockpot instead of baking. That way I can use a cheaper cut of beef and it's ready to eat when I walk in the door from work. (I cook it about 8 hours on low using chuck instead of sirloin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States