Beef Teriyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This is okay. I made it for dinner with my parents last night. My mom complained it was too sweet, I thought it didn't have any flavor, and my dad dumped so much chili sauce in it he couldn't taste anything. My 18 month old ate a little bit, but my picky 8 year old neice said she liked it. I tried adding real garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes, but it just still lacked something. As my mom pointed out, it wasn't bad, it just wasn't great either. I will return to my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I have a similar recipe which is so time consuming. This one is really easy but bland. Recommendation: flash fry the meat stirring constantly. Remove. Steam the broccoli for 1 minute, drain and put aside. This keeps the bright green color and will not be falling apart when you add to the main dish. The few adjustments I made here were to add fresh garlic and 2 to 3 TBSP. of oyster sauce to the broth mix. When it's complete, add about a tsp. or so of bottled teriyaki sauce. Mix. Add the broccoli. Mix gently. No disrespect, but Americans usually overcook veggies and meats. It took me a long time to overcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Good recipe. Needs a little more garlic and 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. I think next time I will replace some of the beef broth with some pineapple juice. I also used barely cooked frozen broccoli spears then dried them well before adding them - excellent. I will make this recipe again. I would even serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I used round steak, fresh garlic and added some crushed red pepper. My roommate saidit was just as good as Chinese food and my boyfriend said it was better because you actually got some beef. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This recipe turned out very well with a few changes, and my husband really enjoyed it. I served it along with brown rice prepared according to the recipe for Fried Rice Restaurant Style. I made the following changes: 1) Marinated beef in 1/4c teriyaki sauce, 1tsp minced ginger, and 1tsp minced garlic for about two hours, 2) Added 1/4c diced red onion and a bit of oil when browning the beef, 3) To the sauce, added 1/4c teriyaki sauce, an extra 1/4tsp garlic powder, and 1/2tsp crushed red pepper. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Good flavor but I think it was because I had to jazz it up with all kinds of extras -- more soy, fresh ground ginger, ground ginger root powder, red pepper flakes, black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I agree that this does not taste like teriyaki, but it is very good. It reminds me of steak kow that I have had at a chinese restaurant. Next time I might try using low sodium beef broth to cut down on the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This is really good as is. Doesnt need any changes. I however, tend to like things on the spicy side. If your are the same then some red pepper and garlic is really good in this one. but honestly you dont need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Very average recipe as it stands, but as per other reviewer's suggestions, adding a bit more of this and that helps boost the flavor. Definitely *not* a ''teriyaki'' recipe, however. As noted, it is a decent ''beef and broccoli'' recipe. My husband prefers well done veggies so I would at least partially boil/steam the broccoli before adding to the beef mixture as otherwise they are way too crispy for him. Overall, not a bad recipe but also not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aylimn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Ennis, County Clare, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Ok but missing some flavor....also the sauce didn't thicken enough maybe needs a drop more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States