Beef Teriyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was a great base recipe! I used some other people's suggestion and added oyster sauce, and real garlic, and a sprinkle of salt to add to the flavour. I will use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really wanted to like this, unfortunately, I didn't. I wasn't expecting a strong teriyaki flavor based on this recipe, but I was expecting...flavor. This was extremely bland as written. The sauce didn't thicken much and I was disappointed that I wasted beef on it. After trying it as it was written, I took the remainder and started adding red pepper flakes, more soy sauce, and more garlic. It was only marginally better. I can't recommend this recipie as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The boyfriend enjoyed it! We added shrimp. I found it too° longer than I expected to thic°en up, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The recipe in general is a good base. I made a 3 serving amount so halved everything but one thing I did do that's important is to switch out the beef broth for Dashi stock (yes, this is really hard to find/you usually have to go to an Asian Foods store to find it), the other is adding in 7 spice (It's got a good heat to it), 1/2 tsp of sesame oil, onion powder to your liking, ground ginger, added 1/2 tsp extra of brown sugar to kick the extra heat, 1 tbl extra soy sauce plus started off marinating the beef in a soy/water/rice vinegar mix for 30 min before frying the beef over high heat. Also sliced 1/2 of an onion and cooked it with the beef. Steamed broccoli and also a thinly sliced carrot separately while cooking the beef and onions. Put the sauce mix in after the beef browned and cooked over high for 2 min, then added in the steamed veggies. Cooked for a few more min over high heat until the sauce was barely visible. My boyfriend is Japanese and usually quite picky with food in general but he certainly enjoyed this. =3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenLyddie
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe was great - I did add more garlic powder and brown sugar. I also cooked it with seasonal green peas and I really like the taste of green peas with the teriyaki. I would definitely recommend this and cook again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this yesterday, and it was awesome!! The whole family loved it! I did make a couple of changes, though. Instead of broccoli, I added red pepper, sliced water chestnuts, and baby corn. I also added powdered ginger to the sauce. My 9 year-old is allergic to soy, so I made the Soy Sauce Substitute recipe (found here on Allrecipes), and used about 3-4 tablespoons. I served it with basmati rice. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZENSPIRIT47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Marinated the meat overnight. Stir fried Thai style veggies in garlic and oil, and set aside. Cooked meat, added sauce meat marinated in, brought to boil, addded veggies and reduced sauce (about 4 min). Served over bowls of rice, topped with sesame seeds and chili flakes. Family loved. Easy, fast and tasty - perfect for a hectic work night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Awesome! Better than the local chinese restaurant and we served over Brown rice to save calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daughtr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I found this had excellent flavor, though I did add a dash more soy sauce and I seasned the grilling beef with kosher salt as in my experience letting thin slices of meat boil away on its own results with an odd taste that never gives way to the sauce. In this case, however, the kosher salt and the extra bit of soy sauce and this was one OUTSTANDING dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this for my family as is and found it fantastic though everybody is right its not a true beef teriyaki but it is a awsome meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States