Beef Tenderloin with Ginger-Shiitake Brown Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Truly amazing!! Substitute dry vermouth for sake, jarred chopped chives just fine. Don't add the last 1/2 cup of butter...way to oily and not necessary. Instead, double the ingredients in step 3 (I would add 1 and 1/2 cups of shitakes) and then brown. Remove once brown to avoid seperating. I also only cooked the meat in the oven for six minutes then transferred to warm plate, wrapped the filets in tin foil and covered with a towel to let cook the rest of the way while I finished sauce. Ended up an absolute perfect buttery medium rare! I can't wait for the next dinner party to serve this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have nothing to say about this recipe except: DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly except that I cut down on the butter a bit in the first step and used some garlic olive oil instead (the butter later in the recipe made up for this, no problem). I personally would recommend using Mirin and sake and not subbing it for something else-- that sweet, subtle flavor can't be found anywhere else. But if you're looking for sake and mirin, don't go to the liquor store. Mirin is a COOKING wine, and thus would be found in your local grocery store (or Asian food store) in the cooking wine and/or asian food section. Sake should be with all other wines and beers. Worth the extra hunt in the grocery store because this recipe is so yummy we ate every last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I didn't have mirin or sake. I opted for red wine as a substitue for mirin and omitted the sake and it was still great and full of flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Absolutely DELICICOUS. Followed the recipe exactly (except I put the filets in an ovenproof dish rather than putting the skillet in the oven). I served it with Carrot Rice (recipe on this site) and I sauteed some peapods with toasted sesame seeds and seasoned them with salt and pepper. Gorgeous presentation and I truly can't tell you how yummy it was. The butter sauce is out of this world. Easy meal that would be perfect for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Delicious!!! I had to use Sherry instead of Sake and I marinated the steaks in a little soya sauce before cooking. Other than that I followed the recipe correctly. The sauce is really, really good. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
The sauce is excellent, but the steaks are only seasoned with salt and pepper. It would have been nice to have the flavour infused into the meat instead of just in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was simple, exotic and absolutely ono-licious (delicious). My guests were VERY impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made this for Valentine's day. My husband was never more impressed. The flavor was outstanding, and it was very simple to prepare. I could not find mirin, but used a sweet red wine recommended by my local wine store in place of it. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. Made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day and he begged me to make it again for him today. Couldn't find mirin anywhere so used Fuki Plum wine and can't imagine it being any better with the mirin. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was really good! I recommend using organic butter if possible because it browns better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States