Beef Tenderloin with Ginger-Shiitake Brown Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Absolutely DELICICOUS. Followed the recipe exactly (except I put the filets in an ovenproof dish rather than putting the skillet in the oven). I served it with Carrot Rice (recipe on this site) and I sauteed some peapods with toasted sesame seeds and seasoned them with salt and pepper. Gorgeous presentation and I truly can't tell you how yummy it was. The butter sauce is out of this world. Easy meal that would be perfect for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Everything was really good. The mirin gave the sauce a sweet taste which my husband and I liked very much. I never have broiled or pan-fried a steak to the same taste as a grill so I opted to do that and drizzle with sauce after. I also wrapped each tenderloin in apple wood smoked bacon for an extra flavor and I highly recommend a good quality bacon for this. I do prefer the taste of portabella mushrooms over shiitake but it was worth a shot. Overall very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Absolutely amazing. I couldn't find mirin at the liquor store so I used plum wine instead. I also used twice the amount of shiitake mushrooms. Next time I may use less butter at the end, but overall amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Really refreshing and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I really liked the sauce and it was super easy to make. The only change I'll do is making more. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Delicious!!! I had to use Sherry instead of Sake and I marinated the steaks in a little soya sauce before cooking. Other than that I followed the recipe correctly. The sauce is really, really good. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
The sauce is excellent, but the steaks are only seasoned with salt and pepper. It would have been nice to have the flavour infused into the meat instead of just in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made this for Valentine's day. My husband was never more impressed. The flavor was outstanding, and it was very simple to prepare. I could not find mirin, but used a sweet red wine recommended by my local wine store in place of it. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was really good! I recommend using organic butter if possible because it browns better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
this recipe is DELICIOUS. highly recommended, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States