Beef Tenderloin with Ginger-Shiitake Brown Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I got to admit that I was skeptical of this recipe...I've never cooked Tenderloin in the oven being a die hard grill guy. It turned out fantastic!! We enjoyed the sauce, but it almost was too buttery for my taste. All in all very good and would recommend. PS Don't tell my grill buddies about using the oven. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent Ecklor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I'm giving this three stars because I'm sure I must have messed it up somehow. For me, it was LOTS of melted butter with some greasy, fried shitake mushrooms with a sort of gingery flavor. I don't get the sauce part. I followed the instructions to a tee. I'm a pretty experienced cook, but I must have missed something. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I had 2 small portions of beef tenderloin and used this recipe. It was rich and outstanding. My garlic chives are a little tough now so I used my regular chives. Wonderful!! This rates among my all time favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe is original and delicious! My fiancee BEGS me to make it for him. I serve it with some red skin potatos tossed in garlic, butter and dill. A HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very Good! Followed exactly!! Mirim is rice cooking wine and you get it in the grocery store. Also used a good saki and drank the rest with dinner.I did add the juices of the meat in the sauce. Next time I will put the meat on the grill and maybe add fresh chopped scallians instead of chives. I also served with carrot rice and sweet and spicy green beans from this site. Made a great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have nothing to say about this recipe except: DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly except that I cut down on the butter a bit in the first step and used some garlic olive oil instead (the butter later in the recipe made up for this, no problem). I personally would recommend using Mirin and sake and not subbing it for something else-- that sweet, subtle flavor can't be found anywhere else. But if you're looking for sake and mirin, don't go to the liquor store. Mirin is a COOKING wine, and thus would be found in your local grocery store (or Asian food store) in the cooking wine and/or asian food section. Sake should be with all other wines and beers. Worth the extra hunt in the grocery store because this recipe is so yummy we ate every last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. Made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day and he begged me to make it again for him today. Couldn't find mirin anywhere so used Fuki Plum wine and can't imagine it being any better with the mirin. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I didn't have mirin or sake. I opted for red wine as a substitue for mirin and omitted the sake and it was still great and full of flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Truly amazing!! Substitute dry vermouth for sake, jarred chopped chives just fine. Don't add the last 1/2 cup of butter...way to oily and not necessary. Instead, double the ingredients in step 3 (I would add 1 and 1/2 cups of shitakes) and then brown. Remove once brown to avoid seperating. I also only cooked the meat in the oven for six minutes then transferred to warm plate, wrapped the filets in tin foil and covered with a towel to let cook the rest of the way while I finished sauce. Ended up an absolute perfect buttery medium rare! I can't wait for the next dinner party to serve this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Absolutely DELICICOUS. Followed the recipe exactly (except I put the filets in an ovenproof dish rather than putting the skillet in the oven). I served it with Carrot Rice (recipe on this site) and I sauteed some peapods with toasted sesame seeds and seasoned them with salt and pepper. Gorgeous presentation and I truly can't tell you how yummy it was. The butter sauce is out of this world. Easy meal that would be perfect for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States