Beef Tenderloin with Ginger-Shiitake Brown Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
When following the recipe exactly there was waaaay too much butter which resulted in a greasy, tasteless sauce. Wish I had read the reviews before giving this one a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rekirby17
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this yesterday for my annual home Christmas party for several friends. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a big hit. Today I sliced the leftover filets and heated them in the leftover sauce and it was even better the second day. This is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. Will definitly make this again. It's a nice change from just grilled tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe didn`t work for my family. I followed the recipe exactly, except of using white wine instead of mirin, but I didn`t get the sauce at all. The butter evaporated and there was only shiitake mushrooms in the oil. The meat with this sauce didn`t have a flavor at all. I have tried some Ryan`s recipes and all of them were fabulous, but this... Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Good stuff! I cut my steaks from a whole tenderloin so they were not exactly filet, but close. I followed the recipe exactly - and had some trouble with the cooking time/temperature when browning the butter sauce. I think next time I would do my steaks last after the sauce was done because I was afraid they would get too done waiting in the oven - or too cold waiting outside of it. The butter took much longer to brown than stated, and my mushrooms, garlic, and ginger were a little overdone by the time it came together. Great flavor, I'll just need to play with the logistics a bit next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I think this would be very good, but I used Costco tenderloins, which are basically mini roasts, and I didn't cook them long enough...had dinner for 10 and everyone loved it; I was the only one disappointed. Definately double or triple step 3. Will definately try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The best steak I have ever cooked. LOVED it! I used plum wine and reduced the butter by just a little. Served over filet mignon that we cooked rare on the grill. Highly reccomended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Fantastic! We'll be making this time and time again. Recipe perfect as is. Used venison and my mouth is just watering thinking about making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOSIERENVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I was very pleased with how this recipe turned out. The flavor was wonderful. The only change I made is that I used Cremini mushrooms instead of Shiitake. I couldn't find mirin in the wine section of my neighborhood grocery store. I eventually found it in the Asian products section. The bottle doesn't use the word wine, the product, from Kikkoman, is called "Aji-Mirin" and is defined as Sweet Cooking Rice Seasoning on the label. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I got to admit that I was skeptical of this recipe...I've never cooked Tenderloin in the oven being a die hard grill guy. It turned out fantastic!! We enjoyed the sauce, but it almost was too buttery for my taste. All in all very good and would recommend. PS Don't tell my grill buddies about using the oven. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent Ecklor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States