Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent dish, wouldn't change a thing. Only thing to consider is quanity, this is more of a 2 serving dish. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I use Portabella mushrooms and brown sugar instead of Shitake and raspberry jam. It is still outstanding. I also use a very nice port, Graham's 10 year,tawny porto. This recipe has easily moved into my top ten. I have so much fun preparing this dish in anticipation of serving it to friends and enjoying it myself. Thank you 'All Recipes'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Terrific! It even worked with canned mushrooms and cooking sheryy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANELEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I am rating this one for my hubby. He loved it. I am not a big fan of port wine but I made this more for him as he is. The sauce was too sweet for me (port is sweet) but the taste of the meat was wonderful and tender. I was told this is now his favorite recipe! I left the mushrooms whole as this was his preference otherwise followed directions to a "T". My youngest son also rated a 5. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
VERY GOOD. The only modifications I did was adding 1 Tblsp more of rasberry jam, 2 Tblsp of sugar, and some red and vidalia onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Best meal I have ever made in my life. Won my new boyfriend over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was great! One reccomendation is to shorten the reduction time and stir throughout, the first time I attempted this I filled the apartment with smoke but it smelled so good before it burnt that I tried again... and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is easily one of the best dishes I have ever made. It is a costly recipe if you do something wrong or burn something, so novices beware. It is very important that you remove the beef from heat when it is rare/medium-rare as it will continue to cook off the stove. Do not server tenderlion more cooked than medium-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scuba Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
We didn't even have the right amount of port and this turned out awesome!! I'm not a huge mushroom fan and the shiitake really added a nice texture and soaked in the yummy sauce. I'm also not a big meat eater but I couldn't get enough! My husband was also very impressed. We will definitely make this again. We didn't cook the reduction for the full 30 minutes as we had less port than called for and it seemed to reduce really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was really outstanding! The raspberry preserves give it a little something extra. We used skirt steak instead of filet mignon - I'm sure the filet would have made it even better, but the skirt steak was very serviceable and brought the price down. We also found that it took far less than 30 minutes to reduce. For our group of four, it was plenty of food along with a vegetable and a salad. We will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States