Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent dish, wouldn't change a thing. Only thing to consider is quanity, this is more of a 2 serving dish. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I use Portabella mushrooms and brown sugar instead of Shitake and raspberry jam. It is still outstanding. I also use a very nice port, Graham's 10 year,tawny porto. This recipe has easily moved into my top ten. I have so much fun preparing this dish in anticipation of serving it to friends and enjoying it myself. Thank you 'All Recipes'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Terrific! It even worked with canned mushrooms and cooking sheryy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANELEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I am rating this one for my hubby. He loved it. I am not a big fan of port wine but I made this more for him as he is. The sauce was too sweet for me (port is sweet) but the taste of the meat was wonderful and tender. I was told this is now his favorite recipe! I left the mushrooms whole as this was his preference otherwise followed directions to a "T". My youngest son also rated a 5. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
VERY GOOD. The only modifications I did was adding 1 Tblsp more of rasberry jam, 2 Tblsp of sugar, and some red and vidalia onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
The reduction is a keeper, for sure. Personal taste, but I think I'm going to try it again without cubing the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave The Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used sherry and port wine. Even used canned mushrooms. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Best meal I have ever made in my life. Won my new boyfriend over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was great! One reccomendation is to shorten the reduction time and stir throughout, the first time I attempted this I filled the apartment with smoke but it smelled so good before it burnt that I tried again... and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I am guessing I did something wrong because the port reduction was horrid. The port and rasberry sauce made it way to sweet and I could never figure out how to fix it. Also, someone suggested doubling it for 4 people. That was way too much meat for 4 people. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haworth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States