Beef Tenderloin in a Port Shiitake Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was awesome. My husband said it was the best meal he had tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Terrific, well-balanced flavor, and it looks beautiful. Drizzled extra sauce over mashed potatoes. Bought all the ingredients at Pike Place Market and served this for two couples for Valentine's Day dinner to great acclaim. House still smells good the next day! One tip -- when I went to buy the tenderloin, I told the butcher I was cutting it into cubes and he sold me the tail of the tenderloin for $10/lb. instead of the $28/lb. it was going to cost for steaks. This is at Don and Joe's Meat in the Market...maybe other butchers would do it too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
EXCELLENT! I SERVED IT OVER POLENTA SEASONED WITH FRESHLY GRATED ASIAGO AND FONTINELLA CHEESE,AND FRESH CHOPPED ITALIAN PARSLEY, AND A SIDE OF FRESH GARDEN RIPENED, SLICED TOMATOES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING. I used whole tenderloin steaks (2 steaks of about 6 oz each) instead of cubing the meat, but left all other quantities the same except I reduced the port from 2 cups to 1.5 cups. I used a ruby port (LBV), and had the rest of the bottle with dessert! I also used regular white mushrooms instead of shiitake. I found the flavor and texture of this sauce exceptional. By reducing the quantity of the port, it reduced the amount of time needed for the reduction (took about 15 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe is one to keep for another try. I must say that it turned out very well and rich. It is not my favorite way to prepare tenderloin, but I will try it with chicken next time. If you are looking to prepare this along with the suggested side-dishes from the recipe's author, be careful. There is indeed a lot of sweetness to this dish as well as the others. My rating is based on the dish as a stand-alone. Texture and flavor were great--enjoyment of preparation also gets five stars. Nicely done jonnyd523. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Delicious! I was worried about it being a little too sweet but it turned out pretty amazing. I made it for an early Valentine's Day dinner and it was a great choice for the occasion. I didn't cube the meat because I wanted the cuts whole, so I seared the tenderloins an cooked them in the oven at 500 degrees for 4 minutes and let them sit on the pan will a foil tent for a few minutes before placing them in the skillet with the reduction sauce at a medium low heat for 4 more minutes on each side which got them to a perfect medium-rare. The sauce did reduce a bit faster than 30 minutes so this is definitely a recipe you have to watch closely. Little bit of modifications but it was a big hit for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
good but salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Really good recipe! It was a little too sweet, so next time I will leave out the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
FYI, the wine store recommended using ruby port, instead of a white or tawny port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Hats off to the person that created this but it didn't flip my switch! There was nothing wrong it, it just wasn't what I expected. I make everything we eat from scratch and we like a lot of flavor in our food, this just didn't have as much "zing" as I thought it might, I think the sauce would be a great companion for venison though. It is an expensive meal to make if you are not pleased with the result and is definatly NOT for a novice cook. I decided to make this baised on the other reviews and was sadly dissappointed. Over all I would not rush to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States