Beef Tenderloin in Creamy Porcini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My boyfriend surprised me by making this dish....so it's not that difficult. :-) The flavors are delicious and we've added it to our list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very good! I used venison tenderloin and portabella mushrooms. I cooked the onions and mushrooms AFTER I cooked the meat to utilize the pan drippings and therefore omit the bullion cube. My sauce didn't thicken as many others mentioned, so next time I will cook it a bit longer and ensure it thickens before I roast it all in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This beef recipe is delicious. My DH and I both loved it. I had 1 pound of beef tenderloin that I cut up into medallions myself. This is a cheaper way to go. I also only had 1/2 oz of dried porcini mushrooms and used 1/2 cup of water to hydrate, used vidalia onion and 3 large cloves of garlic. I browned the meat thoroughly and left a very pink center. 20 minutes in the oven was perfect and the meat came out medium rare. Perfection. Try this recipe you won't be diasppointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I substitued fresh chanterelle mushrooms and the flavor was incredible. Also, I used Elk tenderloin, which, in my opinion, is far superior to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Husband is a meat and potatoes guy - I like more "sophisticated" food. This dish appealed to both of us, is good for company also because it can seem elegant and doesn't tie you up in the kitchen for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
An excellent dish! It proved convenient as well for dinner with friends. I made it in the morning till the point before you put it in the oven. I kept it in the fridge and then, while we were having a drink with appetizers at dinner, I put it in the oven for 20 minutes! If you like your meat well done though, you should leave it longer, maybe 30. The porcinis are delicious and the sauce didn't come out thin at all and I used light cream, not the thick kind. However, next time I think I will omit the stock cube as it takes away the totally 'home made' feel from the dish. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I guess I was expecting more from this dish. My husband and I are constantly trying to out do each other in the kitchen and this just didn't cut the 5 star quality that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good. I found 15 minutes was not quite long enough in the oven and my meat was stil quite raw. I went 20 minutes but unless you like your beef still bleeding, I'd go as long as 30minutes for a rare to med-rare piece of beef, depending on how thick your medallions are (mine were about 1 1/2 inches). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I made this dish for Christmas Eve last year. The flavor was spectacular, but I will include some type of thickening agent next time as the sauce is on the thin side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison DiGrezia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
all I can say is YUM!! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States