Beef Tenderloin in Creamy Porcini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I didn't use porcinis, so I just sauteed the bella mushrooms as I normally would. I substituted half and half for the heavy cream, and cut and essentially diced the potatoes, otherwise I thought they might take much longer than the meat to cook. I did add some cornstarch to the mushroom mixture, but not sure that was necessary. I roasted for 20 minutes, then realized the beef was not done, however 10 more minutes was too long. Next time I will do 23-25. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is sooo fabulous. We made it for an early Valentine's dinner and it was totally luxurious and completely befitting of the occasion. I normally hate onions and was worried about the pungency of the red onion but it cooked down absolutely deliciously (half was enough for us) - it's the first time I felt like an onion really truly complemented a sauce perfectly. I had a hard time finding new potatoes (in the dead of winter) and ended up using Yukon golds that we peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks. Next time I will cook it 8-10 minutes as after 5, they were still hard even after roasting. I didn't think the beef bouillon took away from the flavor, it made a really nice, beefy, mushroomy sauce. We trimmed the beef our self and cut them into 1" thick medallions. The beef came out PERFECTLY medium rare, I just can't say enough about this recipe. Can't wait to make it for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was very, very tasty. It was the first time I had used dried porcini mushrooms, and I am now a big fan of them. At the end, I did thicken the gravy with a bit of flour. I think next time I will skip the roasted potatoes in exchange for garlic mashed potatoes. And I like the idea of adding a tbsp or 2 of bordeaux to the gravy. I think that would take it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Photo by suzymm
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Recipe was well received by all who ate it. We did use a little extra butter and sprinkled dish with some chopped parsley before serving for color. Pretty easy to make and would be great for entertaining. We served with green beans almondine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzymm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Awesome! Next time will make sure use heavy cream. Used real torn up mushrooms as didn't have porcini mushrooms. Added 3/4 small chopped onion and 2-3 green chopped onions and 2 tspns garlic. Skipped the potatoes, salt and thyme part. Made separate mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
a 5 star recipe, perfect for dinner guests. Always impresses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good, even with the few minor substitutions I made. I did not have the Porcini so I used button and I swapped out the water and the bouillon cube for beef broth. Would probably be better if I had the porcinis but it was still very good and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
After reading several expert reviews, I used 3/4 oz. dried porcini mushrooms in 2/3 cup water, thickened sauce with roux, omitted cube, vidalia onion, and a splash of cabernet. Had 1 1/2 " medallions seared in pan and finished in oven without sauce on them uncovered for 15 minutes for medium rare. Served with sauce and garlic mashed potatoes. Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Really great with beef but even better with a pork roast. Try it out. I have also substituted shallots for the red onions. They are a bit more subtle than the red onions. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very flavorful.I was a little disappointed with the consistency of the sauce and would most likely use a roux next time to thicken it a bit. Using the pan drippings is a great help, perhaps a little bordeaux or port for added flavor as well. I would serve this with garlic mashed potatoes rather than the roasted ones in the recipe. Additionaly, some pasta would also go very well. I made the mistake of cutting the tenderloin medallions too thin (1/4 inch) and would go to 1/2 inch next time. Easier to keep them medium or medium rare. All in all, a good recipe and we will enjoy it again. Note: The leftovers heated up the next day had a more intense flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States