Beef Tenderloin Stuffed with Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
For special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RigStar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karenury
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've made this dish several times and every time I taste it, I'm in heaven. If you get a large tail (8 or 9 ounces) you should only need two for a 4 pound tenderloin. I cook mine at 400° for about 35 minutes (or 145 degrees) and it comes out PERFECT every time. PLEASE don't cook it any longer, as you can see in my photo, after 30 minutes the meat is just under medium. Well worth the price, this is such an impressive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My husband and I made this the day after Christmas since we were invited at the last minute to a Christmas Dinner and it came out lovely. We adjusted it adding parsley, green onions, mushrooms, minced garlic and cilantro in the middle of the beef for a family of 4 and added some asparagus instead of potatoes and some Bearnaise sauce that we drizzeled over the meat it was fantastic. You definitley can taste the beef more then the lobster tails but i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I used a 1 1/2 pound roast and stuffed it with 3 small-ish tails. Instead of making the full cup of butter and wine mixture, I used 2 TB of butter melted with 1/2 cup white wine and fresh, very thinly sliced garlic instead of powder. To keep the moisture in, I wrapped the whole thing with bacon, like is often done with filet medallions, after rubbing the meat with salt, pepper, and a little bourbon. Only cooked it for about 25 minutes, and it was PERFECT. Did this instead of turkey for Thanksgiving, and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was a lovely dinner. I seared the tenderloin on the grill first then added the lobster. I grilled it for approximately 10 min at 375 degrees. Juicy & delicious! Note: I also added a light coating of cream cheese inside the tenderloin to help seal in moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I tried this recipe and made a few changes. I chopped the lobster and mixed it with soft garlic butter and then stuffed the tenderloin. For the sauce I added cream and mushrooms. There wasn't a morsel left on the platter everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I'm sad to say this is the first time I've gotten a bad recipe from this site. If you're going to use this recipe for the sauce, only use one cup of wine rather than the recomended three. I only used two cups and the wine was still overpowering and sauce watery -not buttery. Also, cooking meat at that high of a temp might make it come out faster, but the meat will be too well done on the outside and not cooked enough on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I did this for a thanksgiving brunch one year. Keep an eye on the lobster, don't over cook it. I used a 4lb rib eye roast. There was nothing left by the end of the meal! Thanks Mike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASTUBBS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I was able to make this recipe work for a dinner party by making the following changes: cook the tenderloin in 425 degree oven for 25 minutes, then stuff the lobster in the last 5-7 minutes, doucing with lots of butter to keep the lobster moist and keep a close eye on it to make sure it is not over done. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I also made a pan sauce of the drippings and the garlic butter to pour over the tenderloins. Garnished with lemon slices and served with roasted red potatoes and a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Such a terrible waste of money (approximately $100.00), time and effort. Such a disappointment for my dinner party. I agree with the other reviewer that the lobster is totally lost. Won't do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States