Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Love this recipe! Thank you so much for posting. I follow this exactly other than cooking the meat in my crock pot overnight. My family gets together on Christmas morning, opens gifts and then the tamale making party begins. We have tried other recipes in the past, but we will stick with this one, they turned out great. I made a "chili gravy" to go over the tamales, and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The masa wasn't bad but the meat was incredibly bland. I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted like it almost didn't have any seasoning at all. I also found the twine too fussy and unnecessary, just roll and fold up the bottom. I will make tamales again but I would not use this recipe, I'll be looking for something with a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe is spot on traditional taste. First time making tamales and they tasted so authentic they fooled my coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I certainly will not use this recipe ever again because the product was NOT worth all the effort. The filling is good on its own, but for some reason it was really dull and tasteless after it was wrapped and steamed. The finished product was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozalyna Gritten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
yes, i cook my meat in slow cooker and just enough stock to leave 1/2 inch to over meat. so as not have all the liquied to deal with.The meat has lots moisture that cooks out . Tryed the oil instead of lard. oil sucks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by william beckham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and cooked the meat in the crock pot for a day first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Whew! Finished a day of making these delicious tamales. My husband was in and out all day, so not as much help as I thought I'd have today, but I got it done with great results!! These were really, really good. I feel very proud of myself right now, and all I did was follow a recipe. The flavors in these are wonderful! I do have one question though. Do people really use only 4 lb roast and 9 cups of masa harina for THREE packages of corn husks? I soaked and washed a whole lot more than I needed. The masa mix and the meat mix were spot on, and ran out at the same time. I have no clue what to do with all the extra husks! Thanks for posting. Will definitely make again, only with one package of husks. :) photo of my first batch posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was my first time making tamales, so I'm still learning and would change a few things to the recipe. I looked at a lot of different recipes and decided to add onions to the slow cooker and meat. I wish I had read the 'most helpful review' on here first since I would have added the peppers to the slow cooker since you save the juice to add to the masa for flavor. After reading the review, I did add some taco bell taco sauce inside the tamale to try to add flavor, which might have helped a bit, but the masa was a little more bland than I prefer. I also added the traditional pimento olive, which I love. Overall, they're still pretty tasty but I will probably add some enchilada sauce or something to spice it up. I don't like very spicy foods, but I think more ancho chiles or some spicier chiles may also add more flavor. Glad that I made them, thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
i almost didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very very good.... BUT, I made some adjustments and it was quicker and tasted just like the tamales that I had in Oaxica, Mexico. * I used ground beef. I added garlic and a small chopped onion. Once cooked and drained-I used a food processor to mince the meat. I stirred in a small jar of stewed peppers. Once the tamales were ready to steam, I put a 9inch aluminum pan (I cut holes in it) inside a large pot. I stood each tamale up and steamed on 'medium' for about 45 minutes. I also drenched 4-5 paper towels on top of the pot, then I put the lid on. Served with crackers and Sirachi hot sauce....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States