Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
Well tamales are never easy to make, but this recioe made it not very complicated..thank you! What a wonderful taste to the meat. I simmered the meat in a crock pot overnight, so it made the process one step better. I used more chilis and more cumin, just because I prefer more heat. It turned out great. More stock is needed when making the masa harina to make it not so dry when cooked. Be sure to get friends involved in the process...it's an ALL DAY EVENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
This is a good recipe. It's easy, but very time consuming. Instead of steaming the tamales by laying them down in a basket, try inverting a bowl in a large pot and standing the tamales on end around the bowl to create a funnel effect. It's faster and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
They turned out great! Making tamales is very time consuming but, this recipe is delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This takes time and patience but is worth it. It is not spicy so it is good for kids to eat too. You do not need 3 - 8 oz. packages of corn husks though. One would have done the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
FABULOUS!! Finally I have found THE recipe!! Very easy to make. I couldn't find packaged corn husks, but had the produce man at the grocery store save fresh corn husks for me. They worked out great!! You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was my first attempt at making Tamales. Instead of combining the masa, lard, and salt myself, I went to the local Hispanic grocery store and bought a 5lb bag of prepared masa. I put 4 1/2 cups of water with the chuck roast. I had 5 cups of beef stock after the roast was cooked. I boiled the stock down to 1 1/2 cups and mixed it in with the prepared masa to get the consistency required. I used a single 8 oz. package of husks with plenty left over. This recipe was not a waste of time. I prefer a little more flavor and a lot more heat than what was in this recipe, but then my wife and son would not have been able to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Substituted the beef with chicken...man oh man, this is an awsome authentic recipe. Perfect gift for the loved ones! ~Maria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very authentic version. I made extra chile sauce and added some half & half to serve over the tamales. I also substituted shortening for lard and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I used this recipe for the dough only, although I added more broth and warm water. The dough came out way better than that they I've bought already prepared, I will use this dough every year. I will be sending this to my sister to use as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Very Authenic! A little on the bland side. Spice it up a little and it is Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States