Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This recipe was great. I did add more spices and a lot of salt to the meat and I added all of the same spices to the masa and it turned out great. Thank you for the recipe Christmas is complete with our tamale tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe. I lost the recipe I got from my friend years ago, and this one gave me a good guide. The only difference was my friend added tomato paste and sauce to her 'gravy' that is added to the meat. Also, when you steam the tamales, don't use water but use beef broth with some garlic cloves and chiles in it. It will give them even more flavor, you'd be surprised! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
a lot of work but worth every minute , we make about 200 and really wow the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I have made these a few times now. This recipe is really awesome as is - but I found an easier & tastier way to do it after making it many times the way listed. I use the recipe on this site for Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat. Its very easy to make, & makes the tamales SO much tastier! I make the meat one day in the crockpot, then refrigerate it overnight. This makes it easier to remove any fat. Just pluck off any fat the next morning & follow the recipe for the tamale dough, although I use vegetable shortening instead of lard. Make sure to keep a little water or beef broth on hand to dip your spreading knife into to make spreading the dough onto the corn husks a little easier. If you put a can of beef broth in the stockpot with a little water while you are steaming them, it makes the dough tastier as well. Instead of using butchers twine, I just tear off thin strips of the corn husks & tie them with that. These are really good to freeze too. Place in a freezer bag, and pop in the freezer for up for 6 months. To reheat, steam for 15-20 mins or wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for 3-7 mins, depending on the microwave. Steaming them will produce a moister tamale. To reheat refrigerated tamales, wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for about 1-2 mins. You could also steam them for about 5 mins. Make sure you leave the corn husk on while reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1021 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I followed the directions verbatim and the results were amazing!!! I am going to double it next time to share with friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
this is a great recipe, very easy! I used pork loin with NM green chiles and some chipotle peppers as well.. and they're divine. I found the roll-up instructions a little vague, but found a bunch of websites that give you a visual. My husband helped me roll them, and we both sort of found our own favorite method. I will make them again soon with beef... very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This turned out delicious. I did a short cut and bought premixed tamale dough to save a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I loved this recipe! It was a bit time consuming, but well worth the effort. Everybody who tried them loved them, even those who have lived in Mexico for a couple of years. I scaled up the meat part of the recipe to use 6 lbs of rump roast (it was on sale :) and cut back the masa recipe to use 1 lb of lard and 6 cups of the corn meal masa mix. I also boiled down the water the beef cooked in so it would add more flavor to the masa when it was added. I added 2 tsp of salt to this amount of masa, and 1 Tbsp to the meat mix, and it turned out really well. I ended up using 1 8-0z package of corn husks, all of the masa that I had made, and about 1/2 of the meat for about 4 doz tamales. I have the rest of the meat frozen so it will be easier to make next time. I had a big pot and was able to fit all the tamales in (they were a little tightly packed) and steamed them for 2 hours to make sure they were done. The masa turned out nice and light and oh so tasty! Next time I think I'm going to double the amount of ancho chiles used to make them a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
My sister called me to tell me about this recipe.....i checked it out and decided to go to the grocery store to buy the ingredients that i was lacking to make them for dinner that night....I found this recipe to be incredible!!! As well as did my husband,,and he is an extremely picky eater...The recipe was easy to make, just time consuming, but worth the effort and the wait!!!! I couldnt find the peppers called for in the recipe..so i substituted with canned chili's. Im sure that it cut out a little work and didnt seem to alter the flavor!!! We topped the tamales with green chili sauce and also red taco sauce. A compliment to the flavor. Thank You Gloria for a fantastic recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I thought these were excellent! My husband on the other hand, who is very particular when it comes to tamales, said that he didn't like the masa too much... When I asked him why, he just said it didn't taste "right". However, we both agreed that the meat filling tasted great. Making these weren't difficult as I was expecting them to be, time consuming yes, but not difficult. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States