Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
So yummy! The masa harina took me a while to find, but I think it completes the dish, and am glad I was able to get my hands on some. These are quite a bit of work, but plenty well worth it in the end. Will definitely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Thanks for the great idea redneckwoman, this made the recipe even better. It does take a long time, but it is so worth it. My family loves tamale making time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Thanks to "Redneckwoman", I improvised my meat to include all the fixings from her recommended recipe! Rave reviews on the meat. Excellent idea! I also used vegetable shortening instead of lard, but it does make for a "softer" tamale, which does not firm much even after refridgeration. I had enough masa afterwards, that I experimented and made Jalapeno Cheddar tamales for some of our vegetarian friends. Yummmmm. Tip: Less Masa, more filling. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QurlyQs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My wife and I have been makin tamales for years. We've always made chicken. I'm making beef, similar to this recipe, but we are doing everything except steaming them. We are steaming a day later, will this be okay? They are in the fridge with plastic on them. Oh, and I've never used lard, and people say my tamales are delicious. We have always used butter, yup, butter. Sorry, but pig fat just grosses us out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I changed this recipe to a vegetarian version and used spicy lentils in place of the meat, and vegetable broth instead of the lard in the masa. I didn't use the butcher's twine, instead just folded the ends and steamed them like that-I added spicy chipotle peppers to the lentils for an extra kick, and ended up with about 8 dozen. To finish them, I threw them on a hot grill to burn the husks to add a charcoal-smokiness. The finished product was smoky, flavorful, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potterville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Having made Tamales for many many years, I prefer using pork roast. Has more flavor & juices than beef.I prefer using red chili pods, stems and seeds removed. Placed in a blender and processed until smooth. One other reminder, the lard mixed into the Masa Harina really makes a big difference in taste. I would never use veggie oil as stated by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This recipe was great. I did add more spices and a lot of salt to the meat and I added all of the same spices to the masa and it turned out great. Thank you for the recipe Christmas is complete with our tamale tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe. I lost the recipe I got from my friend years ago, and this one gave me a good guide. The only difference was my friend added tomato paste and sauce to her 'gravy' that is added to the meat. Also, when you steam the tamales, don't use water but use beef broth with some garlic cloves and chiles in it. It will give them even more flavor, you'd be surprised! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
a lot of work but worth every minute , we make about 200 and really wow the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I have made these a few times now. This recipe is really awesome as is - but I found an easier & tastier way to do it after making it many times the way listed. I use the recipe on this site for Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat. Its very easy to make, & makes the tamales SO much tastier! I make the meat one day in the crockpot, then refrigerate it overnight. This makes it easier to remove any fat. Just pluck off any fat the next morning & follow the recipe for the tamale dough, although I use vegetable shortening instead of lard. Make sure to keep a little water or beef broth on hand to dip your spreading knife into to make spreading the dough onto the corn husks a little easier. If you put a can of beef broth in the stockpot with a little water while you are steaming them, it makes the dough tastier as well. Instead of using butchers twine, I just tear off thin strips of the corn husks & tie them with that. These are really good to freeze too. Place in a freezer bag, and pop in the freezer for up for 6 months. To reheat, steam for 15-20 mins or wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for 3-7 mins, depending on the microwave. Steaming them will produce a moister tamale. To reheat refrigerated tamales, wrap in a damp paper towel & microwave for about 1-2 mins. You could also steam them for about 5 mins. Make sure you leave the corn husk on while reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1050 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States