Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Being a San Antonian, home of Tex-Mex, I was a bit nervous about making tamales on my very own this year. I must say, these turned out to be a real winner! I borrowed my mother's HUGE steamer(metallic, the kind that looks like a triple boiler with holes on the bottoms) because I don't have a dutch oven. I had to adjust the height of the tamales to get the lid to close, but it worked. You're supposed to steam the tamles in a semi-upright position, so I rolled a wad of foil into a ball and placed in the center. Then, I lay the tamales around the foil to form a teepee-like shape. I followed the recipe to the letter, and they are soooo delicious! BTW, I didn't feel the husks needed 3 whole hours to soften. I submerged them (almost blanched them) in hot tap water in the sink and put an inverted glass baking dish over them to keep them from floating for about 45 minutes. Very tedious, but my family had high praises! Next time, I will start in the morning as opposed to the evening and also enlist the help of a friend. I was EXHAUSTED by the time they were finished at 1:00 in the morning. I started around 9:00 in the evening. Oh, I also never bothered tying the tamales (my family doesn't do it either), and I divided the chuck roat into 2 parts and boiled them in 2 seperate pots to cut down on the cooking time. I trimmed off most of the fat, but you want to leave just a LITTLE tiny bit for flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
i prefer to buy the masa freshly made from your local mexican food store.but when you order your masa make sure you order it with cili powder mix. and i like to use beef. it takes beteer and much more tender.Just add garlic,cuman,salt,californis red chili pepper with the beef and beeh stock. it taste much better. i use the corn musk to tie together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
A little advice about mixing masa: add the lard to your dry ingredients and mix very well by hand. Begin adding your meat broth a little at a time until you get peanut butter consistancy, and to be really sure your batter is ready, drop a bit into a glass of water. If it floats to the top, it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I followed some of the suggestions from the other ladies and they came out delicious. The only thing I'll do different next time is cook them probably about 15-20 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a pretty way to make tamales but I agree with others that using pork is better. Make sure to brown the meat, onions, and garlice before simmering with spices for better flavor. Also, use the fatty broth strained in greater ratio to the masa and lard. I use a teaspoon of baking powder for a fluffier dough. To avoid soggy tamales you must place shucks in the bottom of your steamer while steaming! Otherwise the water really soaks them. Before eating or storing they must cool down on a sheet to firm up. I freeze mine raw to steam fresh for parties. Most people have never had a tamale fresh out of the steamer. Reheated will never be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe was a real lifesaver. I am a recent export from Texas, and was beginning to think I would die if I couldn't get my hands on some tamales. The meat was wonderful and juicy! I invited some friends over (some who had never heard of tamales, and we spent the day together making tamales and drinking margaritas. Thanks for the great recipe. Will be doing this again for Christmas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. I have never made tameles befor and this made it very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
So yummy! The masa harina took me a while to find, but I think it completes the dish, and am glad I was able to get my hands on some. These are quite a bit of work, but plenty well worth it in the end. Will definitely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Thanks for the great idea redneckwoman, this made the recipe even better. It does take a long time, but it is so worth it. My family loves tamale making time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Thanks to "Redneckwoman", I improvised my meat to include all the fixings from her recommended recipe! Rave reviews on the meat. Excellent idea! I also used vegetable shortening instead of lard, but it does make for a "softer" tamale, which does not firm much even after refridgeration. I had enough masa afterwards, that I experimented and made Jalapeno Cheddar tamales for some of our vegetarian friends. Yummmmm. Tip: Less Masa, more filling. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QurlyQs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States