Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I have made tamales for years, and this is a good recipe. I just wanted to say that IF you love tamales but can't eat them due to the fattening nature of the ingredients, there is a very good substitute. You can use water (yes, water) instead of lard. And if you need less meat you can use the same spices in some blended blackeyed peas for the filling. Now I know this is not the SAME, but it IS quite good and would be a great way to once again have tamales even though your doctor has said 'NO.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmary8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Cameron, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was time consuming but worth it! We made extra so we could eat them all week. I think adding the cooking liquid to the masa made them extra special. definately will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe. Next time I make it I will definitely increase the salt. I did not add a lot out of fear that the tamales would be too salty. I did find it easier to puree the peppers in my blender with a cup of the beef broth. When I attempted to grind them in my mortar, it did not do anything. Another difference is I added baking powder to the tamale dough because the masa corn that I purchased indicated this as a key ingredient. My tamales came out great. I bought 5 bags of corn husks instead of 3 and I used most of them. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
this is by far the best recipe for tamales, the cooking liquid is key to a very good masa. Making these tamales are a treat worth waiting for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I found these to be really easy. I was really pleased with myself, until I took off the corn husks , it just started to crumple. I dont know what I did wrong. Did I not add enough liquid to the masa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I should have listened to everybody else when they told me tamales were an all day task! The meat was really good (I may use it for taco filling, etc.), but next time, I will cook it in the slow-cooker ahead of time. The directions were fantastic and very detailed.. great for a beginner like me! However, my only qualm with this recipe is the masa. Did I select the wrong masa? Anyhow, it was very dry. I may have to increase the lard next time (never thought I'd say that!!). Also, when we ran out of masa, I used 1/3 lard and 2/3 shortening.. big mistake.. they turned out crumbly and flavorless. I will try again next year, but will tweak the recipe some. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I grew up in Texas eating Tamales, now that I live in Georgia they are hard to find. I made them using this recipe and they were AWESOME. I can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Being a San Antonian, home of Tex-Mex, I was a bit nervous about making tamales on my very own this year. I must say, these turned out to be a real winner! I borrowed my mother's HUGE steamer(metallic, the kind that looks like a triple boiler with holes on the bottoms) because I don't have a dutch oven. I had to adjust the height of the tamales to get the lid to close, but it worked. You're supposed to steam the tamles in a semi-upright position, so I rolled a wad of foil into a ball and placed in the center. Then, I lay the tamales around the foil to form a teepee-like shape. I followed the recipe to the letter, and they are soooo delicious! BTW, I didn't feel the husks needed 3 whole hours to soften. I submerged them (almost blanched them) in hot tap water in the sink and put an inverted glass baking dish over them to keep them from floating for about 45 minutes. Very tedious, but my family had high praises! Next time, I will start in the morning as opposed to the evening and also enlist the help of a friend. I was EXHAUSTED by the time they were finished at 1:00 in the morning. I started around 9:00 in the evening. Oh, I also never bothered tying the tamales (my family doesn't do it either), and I divided the chuck roat into 2 parts and boiled them in 2 seperate pots to cut down on the cooking time. I trimmed off most of the fat, but you want to leave just a LITTLE tiny bit for flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
i prefer to buy the masa freshly made from your local mexican food store.but when you order your masa make sure you order it with cili powder mix. and i like to use beef. it takes beteer and much more tender.Just add garlic,cuman,salt,californis red chili pepper with the beef and beeh stock. it taste much better. i use the corn musk to tie together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
A little advice about mixing masa: add the lard to your dry ingredients and mix very well by hand. Begin adding your meat broth a little at a time until you get peanut butter consistancy, and to be really sure your batter is ready, drop a bit into a glass of water. If it floats to the top, it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States