Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT....I COULD NEVER GET MY MOTHRE IN LAW TO GIVE ME THE RECIPE FOR HER DAM TAMALES..........SMILES .........NOW I HAVE ONE AND THEY AE BETTER THAN HERS...SMILES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS>TINA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
They will never be like my Great Grandmothers........... BUT I had to make several batches to keep this family of 5 happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I used this recipe to make my very first tamales. I was a little nervous because I was going to serve them to guests. They turned out great and a lot easier than I expected. Just time consuming. My only complaint was the meat filling was kind of dry, I will need to think of some sort of sauce to add to it. DO NOT buy as many corn husks as the recipe calls for. I only purchased one package and I still had some left over. Tamales are just about my favorite food around and I am so happy to know that I can make them myself now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were awesome! We had the kids help out and they made a huge mess...but they were worth it. I asked plenty of people about making tamales and got a lot of feedback. Not one told me that the masa sets after you take them out and allow them to sit. I wish I would have known that. This being my first time, and learning when to take them out, they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are wonderful. I had no idea what I was getting into. Plan a day in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Overall, this recipe was Okay. First I had way too much meat left over and corn husks as well. I only used one package of corn husks. Second, I dont know if its just my steamer or what, but I had to steam them for 75 minutes instead of the 60 (one hour) that was recommended. Third, the meat mixture really didnt have that much "kick" to it, so I added an extra chile or two, along with some other spices. But this recipe was better than any of the other tamale recipes on here. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I mixed the ground chiles with the beef broth then pushed it through a sieve to get rid of seeds and hard pieces of chile skin. My husband prefers spicier tamales, so I put a small piece of jalapeno in half of the tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My hubby really likes this recipe. I have tried every other and didn't like any of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Great recipe, I took the advice of other and made the meat in a slow cooker the day before. Also, definitely don't need three-8oz packages of corn husks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deric

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and these had absolutely no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States