Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were awesome! We had the kids help out and they made a huge mess...but they were worth it. I asked plenty of people about making tamales and got a lot of feedback. Not one told me that the masa sets after you take them out and allow them to sit. I wish I would have known that. This being my first time, and learning when to take them out, they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are wonderful. I had no idea what I was getting into. Plan a day in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Overall, this recipe was Okay. First I had way too much meat left over and corn husks as well. I only used one package of corn husks. Second, I dont know if its just my steamer or what, but I had to steam them for 75 minutes instead of the 60 (one hour) that was recommended. Third, the meat mixture really didnt have that much "kick" to it, so I added an extra chile or two, along with some other spices. But this recipe was better than any of the other tamale recipes on here. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I mixed the ground chiles with the beef broth then pushed it through a sieve to get rid of seeds and hard pieces of chile skin. My husband prefers spicier tamales, so I put a small piece of jalapeno in half of the tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My hubby really likes this recipe. I have tried every other and didn't like any of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Great recipe, I took the advice of other and made the meat in a slow cooker the day before. Also, definitely don't need three-8oz packages of corn husks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deric

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and these had absolutely no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
What more can I say but MMMMMMMM! Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe is actually very good. I used pork carnitas and menudo seasoning along with the other spices. I toasted my peppers with some liquid before adding everything together and seasoned my masa with more menudo seasoning for better flavor. The picture posted of these really looks nothing like what they should. Tamales should not be that thick and by all means should not have a red (blood like) sauce seeping from them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
A great and as easy as it can be recipe! The masa was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States