Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I want to give this more stars but I have tried to make it a couple of times and can't get my tamales to come out right, The filling is awesome but constantly having problems with the masa. I will give it 1 more shot but not for awhile since it's very time consuming. My masa seems to be to dry or has texture issues. I wish I knew what was wrong, I have watched enough videos and read reviews for tips but the results are still the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
lovely, simple recipe for a dish people tend to over-complicate. To send this recipe right over the top into Midsummer Treat territory, use the green corn husks from your summertime fresh sweet corn to wrap the tamales. OMG, it makes ALL the difference, lending a unique sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebrites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i have a serious passion for my friends mom's tamales never been able to get anything like hers athentic granit she is mexican and lived in mexico her whole life i love this recipe i made it to the tee and i swear i think they are better.,... so glad tamales have always been a mystery to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
After reading the mostly great reviews I was very excited, until I ate one after all these hours of preparation. The meat filling was tasty and juicy. It was the dough that was flavorless. I prepared exactly as stated in this recipe. I will not make this again, but at least it gave me a starting point with a good shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
They were great I added cheese while they steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed the suggestion to use Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat instead of the recipe's meat recipe. The slow cooker beef was certainly tender enough but lacked almost all flavor. I had to add the recipe's cumin and garlic and oregano and vinegar afterwards to step up the flavor. I'll try the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great! Try trimming all fat from beef and slow cooking for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipie is fairly easy but I think I did something wrong because my tamales turned out a little dry. I followed the recipie to the letter and I dont know were I went wrong. Maybe next time they wont be so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have moved and left my recipe in storage so I was looking for an authentic Mexican recipe and this fit the bill. I don't add the chilies. However, I do add chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
After living in PHoenix for 3 years, my husband begged me to try tamales this year. I must say, this recipe is far better than good. I read a couple of recipes, so I wandered a little from this recipe. I used the Ancho chiles, but also used 4 oz. of the New Mexico chiles. Plus I used 1 BULB of garlic for the meat preparation, as well as 1 BULB of garlic in the chile preparation. As for the chile preparation, I used a totally different method, which took far less effort. I removed stems and seeds. Then placed all chiles in stock pot with enough water to just cover them. I boiled them for about 30 minutes with 1/2 sliced onion, cumin, garlic, oregano, and white vinegar. I let this cool slightly, and then placed chiles and 2 ladles of chile broth into a blender. Blend on high for about 1 min. until thoroughly liquified. I had to do this in batches. Then I poured blended mixture into large bowl, and stirred once all of the chiles and juice were blended to incorporate it all together. This was WONDERFUL! Note that chile mixture will be slightly bitter, but flavors of the meat and the sweetness of the masa balanced this all out in the end. I cannot tell you how pleased I was with this outcome. BEST tamales ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States