Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I decided to finally make tamales for Christmas, and not only were these easy to make, but the meat is one of the best flavored tamale meat i have tasted. I've used this meat recipe for shredded beef enchiladas, too. I need to work on the masa a bit, but that's more of my inexperience than a deficiency in the recipe. As someone else mentioned, tamale making is a group event...it' a lot of work for one person! Also, I put a black olive in the middle of the meat during the assembly process. That is common here in Arizona.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Just like Mom used to make! The next day they are even better. We would also heat them up by taking the husks of, and frying them in a small amount of oil until they are crispy on the outside and soft and warm on the inside, then top them with shredded iceberg lettuce and chopped tomatoes, red onion and avocado with a light vinegarette dressing. I know frying them does not exactly lighten up the calories, but it's the holidays and a how often are you going to make home made tamales?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
So after making a few changes to this recipe it was very worth of 5 stars to us..First I want to say there is NO substitute for LARD! Second we used cilantro instead of oregano, nor did we use the red pepper flakes but instead used diced jalapenos.... Very Good Recipe thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
awsome yummm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
While I have not yet made this recipe, I have made tamales in the past. I lost my recipe (for amounts, etc), but the ingredients and amounts in this recipe sound right. I will post the results after they are made. My two step-daughters are coming over on 11/12/11 to make these and I am looking forward to it. I gave it five stars because it does sound perfect. I love this site because of all the comments - it always helps to see what others think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa in New Orleans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abita Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Masa way too dry. It is the perfect masa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Malave'
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Being a vegetarian I used soy base chorizo sausage instead of meat. I added onions and cheese to the chorizo and then followed this recipe. My meat eater friends and family couldn't believe the tamales were meatless. P.S. You can buy the vegetarian chorizo at Walmart in the produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCOX
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I want to give this more stars but I have tried to make it a couple of times and can't get my tamales to come out right, The filling is awesome but constantly having problems with the masa. I will give it 1 more shot but not for awhile since it's very time consuming. My masa seems to be to dry or has texture issues. I wish I knew what was wrong, I have watched enough videos and read reviews for tips but the results are still the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
lovely, simple recipe for a dish people tend to over-complicate. To send this recipe right over the top into Midsummer Treat territory, use the green corn husks from your summertime fresh sweet corn to wrap the tamales. OMG, it makes ALL the difference, lending a unique sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebrites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i have a serious passion for my friends mom's tamales never been able to get anything like hers athentic granit she is mexican and lived in mexico her whole life i love this recipe i made it to the tee and i swear i think they are better.,... so glad tamales have always been a mystery to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States