Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very very good.... BUT, I made some adjustments and it was quicker and tasted just like the tamales that I had in Oaxica, Mexico. * I used ground beef. I added garlic and a small chopped onion. Once cooked and drained-I used a food processor to mince the meat. I stirred in a small jar of stewed peppers. Once the tamales were ready to steam, I put a 9inch aluminum pan (I cut holes in it) inside a large pot. I stood each tamale up and steamed on 'medium' for about 45 minutes. I also drenched 4-5 paper towels on top of the pot, then I put the lid on. Served with crackers and Sirachi hot sauce....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I ADD MERKEN MAPUCHE SPICE. I found the Chilean spice about 2 years ago. It has a slightly smokey chile flavor (similar to ancho chiles). But I added about 3 tbsp to the original recipe and it really adds a wonderful flavor to the meat. I have an Asian bamboo steamer basket set that I stack on to of a large soup pot with a steamer grill at the bottom resting on a standard coffee mug. I am then able to fill the pot with water all of the way up to the top of the mug, then I begin layering the tamales, first on the steamer grill, then in the next three bamboo steamer baskets I have. It allows me to steam an entire batch at once. These are really tasty, can't wait to make them again. P.S. I get the Merken spice online. I can put it on just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Used this recipe & Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat for the best Mexican food I've ever made...according to my husband. They were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Some friends from Mexico several years back, came to our house and taught us to make their families' recipe for tamales. They took great pride in the making of them. We spent most of the entire day in the process; there were plenty for freezing and enjoying later. This recipe is very close but I like more liquid than called for (just makes easier spreading.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katjahefington
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Wow - made these today, but with Pork instead, some with just cheese. Very good and I thought easy to make... Thanks for the recipe and easy instructions. Also, I didn't tie mine, I just folded the bottome end over and stood them up, when steaming the tamales, I did cover the tamales with corn husks while steaming (these were things some of my latina girl friends told me to do :)...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjahefington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Miguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Yummy!!!I love tamales and this recipe makes making them easy and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great for the whole family they just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyangel456

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These turned out great...Added a few tablespoonns of mild salsa to the batter for a bit of a kick. Made 4 dozen and family can't eat them fast enough. Worth the time to make.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and they were delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is the exact recipe my dear neighbor used when she taught me how to cook THE best Tamales. Recipe from San Luis Petosi in central Mexico. Most wonderful memories and most beautiful region of Mexico. Lovely warm family and this memory will last my entire life. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States