Beef Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Gloria I thank you and so does my family, this is something I've been dying to try to make. everyone said that they are hard to make. boy were they wrong!!! You spend more time waiting for the meat to cook or corn husks to soak. and the end result is fantastic! We spiced it up a bit. just because we are more "Tex-Mex". the hotter the better. I will make these again. I followed the recipe to the tee, with the exception of adding more hot spice's to the meat. very very very good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
So good! Everything went real well. I cooked the meat in a crockpot overnight on low. That worked out great. It didn't seem like as much work as it might have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Wow! This is definitely a labor of love. Very time consuming but oh, so good! Next time I will get some of the prep work done ahead of time, like preparing ancho peppers and cooking the meat so I am not in the kitchen all day. I used a pressure cooker for the meat to save time. I served them to company and everyone loved them. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This recipe was great! This was my first time attempting tamales and I was a little worried--they turned out so good. I used Veggie Shortening instead of lard, and my family and I thought they were great. This is definately going to be a "regular" on the menu in my home! I can't wait to try them with different meats/veggies/fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is a great recipe. I used it when I tried making them my first time. i did find that i had to let them cook a bit longer though than the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiaReaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alviso, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This recipe looks really good. I use a pork roast instead of beef and they are excellent. Chili goes better with pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A cultural note for everyone who says the tamale recipes take too long. Traditionally a family will have a "tamalada"- a get together where family will work together assembling the tamales. Making tamales is a time consuming process but when you do it this way, you will have an opportunity to visit with family and develop family bonds. (It is great with friends too...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was my first time making this recipe. It was a hit! I used chicken instead of beed and though, I did not use lard for the masa. The masa I used just called for water. My husband and friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This is a very authentic recipe. Authentic Mexican food is very falvorful, but not hot. It is we chili heads north of the border who have added the heat. That's called Tex-Mex. I recently had something suggested to me that cuts the time in half when making tamales. Take your tortilla press and line it with plastic or waxed paper, lay your shuck in it and place a walnut sized ball of masa, then press it down as if making tortillas, it spreads the masa, keeps your hands cleaner (clean isn't really an option when working with this :) ) and fills the shucks in no time at all. Just make sure you line that side of the press too. Also, for an interesting twist, try adding a little mole (found in a jar in the mexican food aisle and looks like spreadable chocolate) into your masa harina mixture. You can also use either red or green enchilada mix, a really thin salsa, Louisianna hot sauce (if you want heat) and anything else you can think of. For a really interesting twist from the Yucatan, instead of using corn shucks, use bananna leaves. The flavor is incredible although you will absolutely need to tie these unline corn shucks which have a tendency to fold back up on them selves anyway. Either buy the bananna leaves at a Hispanic market or order them online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Overall this is a superb recipe, they remind me of tamales they serve at resturants on the southside of Tucson,AZ. They'll make great Christmas gifts this year! There seem to be a few too many steps, but I guess no guts no glory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States