Beef Taco Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I'm giving this a four instead of five for the simple fact that the recipe as is does not call for spices of any kind. I added a package of taco seasoning and used flour tortillas instead of corn. I like both, but for the sake of trying something new, I used flour, and it was amazing! I lined the bottom of the pan w/a nice layer of torn pieces of flour tortillas, then added the meat mixture. Once done, the tortillas on the very bottom had a nice golden crispiness to them while the rest were hot and almost chewy (in a good way, hard to describe here). It's reminiscent of the good fried burritos I loved as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
For a casserole, this is really quick and easy to make! I used 8 corn tortillas, half the amount of meat subbing ground turkey, and added a can of black beans. You couldn't even tell it had tomato soup in it, it blended with the medium hot salsa I used very well. I recommend using a really flavorful salsa since that's where most of the flavor comes from. That being said, we'll surely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Delicious! I made a double batch and used half enchilada sauce and half mild rotel for the tomatoes. Added some extra dehydrated onions and garlic for flavor, put it only about half the milk it called for, used ground turkey in place of the beef, and used flour tortillas instead of the corn. It was very yummy! My kids all loved it, and my husband and I did too. And it wasn't too spicy for the kids (though for all adults I'd definitely add some more spice to kick it up!). I froze the second batch of this. It's a great freezer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Hmmm, maybe I was just hungry, but this was really good for some pantry items tossed together. I tinkered some and added a good sprinkle of garlic salt and some dried minced onion as the meat browned. I used On the Border brand salsa and simmered the meat sauce mix adding the cheese last as it went into the no stick sprayed baking dish, while the oven pre heated. I used a Mexican blend of cheeses and served this with a sliced avocado and a dollop of sour cream for a wonderful filling meal and all from a few cans and packaged items! Thanks, I'd fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I got this recipe from a friend, it's sooo good. The only thing I do different is saute garlc and onion with the beef. then I throw in some taco seasoning(taco seasoning I, from this site) and bake at a lower temp. covered, that makes the tortillas softer. Throw the cheese and put back in uncovered to melt the second addition of cheeese. Perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Been making this for years. Very good as is. I do add more cheese to the top though, otherwise a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I make this quite often. It's a budget saving meal that's quick and freezable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is really good! I can't give a 5, because I do think it needed spices, which I added. I added 1/2 package of taco seasoning and about a tablespoon of chili powder. It was awesome. Next time I think I'll add some black beans and corn, to make more of a one-pot meal. Had it with salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent - this has been an old standby for me for many many years. I use flour tortillas and a few more than the recipe calls for, and a bit more cheese, depending on what I have on hand of each. This is a very quick, very filling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I usually make this when I forget to take something out for dinner but it is one of our favorites. It is quick and easy and very good (despite the picture shown here ;) ) My 2 yr old and 1 yr old gobble it up too. I use medium salsa and it does have a little kick to it but not too bad. I season the hamburger with salt, pepper and garlic powder, I add a cup of cheese to the mix and top it with slices of american cheese and cheddar, sour cream and sliced black olives. It is AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayquinn28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlings, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Animas, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States