Beef Stroganoff with Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Wasn't what I expected the sauce was very runny :( I even doubled the cornstarch like one of the reviews had mentioned. It actually tasted better the next day after I put the sauce over the noodles and let it sit overnight, like a tweaked beef and noodles. If I make again, I will add garlic and maybe just 4 oz of sour cream and MORE cornstarch to thicken. and 2 cans of beef broth. In fact I thought it needed more salt added to it and I am not a saltaholic! Will try again, it is always better second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMELLA1010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
WOW. This was the first time I made this dish and it turned out to be very good and a keeper. I made some adjustments due to the fact that I work till late and did not start cooking till 745pm. I used stew meat that i boiled for 15 minutes (as i was puting away the groceries)it also helped cut back on the cooking time. Then i browned the meat, set it aside. In the same pan i cooked the onion (did not have any celery) and added some garlic as well. once the onions were translucent i added the meat to it. Added 1/3 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup masala red cooking wine, 1 can beef broth, and 1-1.5 tablespoon of lemon pepper. It gave it a good zing. Then I let the meat and the broth simmer for 20-25 minutes. in the mean time i boiled the pasta and sauted the mushrooms and had my dinner rolls baking. Once the pasta was done, i added the mushrooms to the meat sauce and added the cornstrach mix (2-3 tbspn cornstrach with a little bit of water). Once the sauce was think enough I added the LIGHT sour cream (put a little more than what the recipe called for. Let the sauce simmer for 10 minutes. Served rigt after with a pinch of black pepper on top. My boyfriend liked it very much and had two plates full. His exact comment was "baby this sauce is perfect" and i still have left overs. I liked it very much and will make it again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This was too salty. I even use low sodium beef broth. It was too thick and a little darker then usual. I found with the bacon and oil it was a little heavy and a little greasy. I will probably look for a different recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This recipe is the best!! I get great comments whenever I make is, is WELL worth the little extra time!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was a great recipe, my whole family loved it! Takes a while to make but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
WAY TO SALTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was the best beef stroganoff I've ever made. I made 2 changes. First, I coated the beef stew cubes in flour before browning them. That eliminated the need for the cornstarch later on. I also think the flour gives them a nice crunchy, brown coating as well. Second, I left out the seasoning salt altogether. Didn't miss it at all. I think the beef broth has enough salt in it. This definitely is a total keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This recipe is magnificent! My husband is NEVER one to eat leftovers - this recipe is eaten 2 nights in a row, and has supplanted his chicken cacciatore as his favorite "comfort food. These are the changes I adapted to it though: --I agree that the amount of salt called for is ridiculous, so I cut it to just a dusting over the whole lot in step 2, --added one extra stalk of celery, --cut the bacon and Worcestershire called for by half, --added 2 carrots (diced like the other vegetables), --used 1/2 box of the fresh white mushrooms rather than the canned. --I too, agree that as is, the sauce is a bit runny, so I doubled the cornstarch/cold water mixture. --Oh, and for the beef broth, used the low sodium variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTEXAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This recipe was okay. The sauce was too runny but the beef came out really tender. I might try it again but I'd have to tweak it to get a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
The flavour wasn't great, but it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States