Beef Stroganoff III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've made this dish a few times now and have had success each time. I really like the flavor. I've made a few minor modifications that work well for our family: (1) I use spelt flour instead of A/P white flour, (2) I add a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce at the [add] broth stage, (3) I omit the white white and instead use a healthy squeeze of lemon/lime to add acid for balance, and (4) I always always use fresh organic mushrooms that I add mid-way through the hour simmer. I think it's vital for freshness and to give the dish extra liquid since I'm not adding the white wine. Also, a nice stock really gives it depth. I use Heston Blumenthal's pre-made refrigerated beef stock and it works nicely. Top with chopped spring onions just before serving over a bed of fettuccine (or egg) noodles and you've got a winning dinner. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imcooker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used red wine because that's all I had handy. Was good but white would've been better. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I used fresh mushrooms, added garlic to those and the beef. Entirely too bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Marinated sirloin strips in 1/2 cup red wine all day. Did everything else the same, except adding white wine at end. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
My fiance and I absolutely loved this!! Used some other reviewers' suggestions as follows. 1) Used a yellow onion instead of green 2) Used 2 tbsp of cornstarch instead of flour 3) Added 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce along with the prepared mustard 4) Used 1/3 cup of sour cream AND 1/3 cup of cream cheese. I also used fresh mushrooms that I sauteed and added at the end with the sour cream/cream cheese. This recipe will DEFINITELY be made again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Made this according to the recipe except I use top sirloin beef or filet. I also cooked sliced fresh mushrooms instead of using canned. Be sure to not get the sour cream to hot (it can curdle). I stirred in the white wine, waited a minute to cook the alcohol out, added the mushrooms, turned off the heat and then stirred in the sour cream. The second time I made this, I added the fresh mushrooms after I added the beef broth and so there was no need to cook them in advance. I used baby portobellos; delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! I sautéed baby portobellos in butter with chopped garlic instead of using canned. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipie was ok. I will probably use the Campbell's soup recipe instead. Be sure u watch the simmer as it burns quickly. Thank goodness I was only making this for my husband and I or it would have been a disaster. Sauce needs to be a little saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Nice recipe, marsala, cooking wine is also a good alternative to white wine. Fresh Basil and oregano goes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefjedi6T5
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States