Beef Stroganoff II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Pretty good, bland though. I added one can cream of mushroom and one can of cream of celery along w/ fresh mushrooms. Otherwise I would have given it 3stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I used vegetarian steak strips in place of the real meat in this recipe...we weren't crazy about the texture of the meat, but I'm sure that had nothing to do with the actual recipe. I did add some broth to the mix as suggested by other reviewers. I'm not sure if it was the broth, or what, but I thought that it was a bit too salty. However, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this recipe according to the directions minus the onion and paprika. (I couldn't find the paprika) I also used cubed stew steak. The steak was really tender and this recipe was really easy and ready in less than 45 min. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I rated this five stars because it was such a good idea to use mushroom soup in place of mushrooms. I never think to keep mushrooms on hand, so that substitution made this recipe so easy. I used eight ounces of sour cream. I also used ground beef rather than the beef strips, and it was really good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe, but we found it had too much sour cream. I will make this again, but will probably only use 1/2 the sour cream. Also, I added about 1.5 cups of fresh mushrooms, and fried them with the onions. I thought this was a really good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very good - I tried this recipe following the instructions. I read several people's suggestion about the beef broth but didn't have that on hand. Instead I added a can of beef gravy with the mushroom soup and about a cup of water. I also added sliced mushrooms. It came out great, was easy and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
One thing to consider: slow cook the meat = let the flavors meld (and onions cook). I've made this recipe several times. Sometimes I quick fry the meat, most times not. I add the soups, meat, onions and mushrooms to the crookpot and cook on low for a few hours. NOTE: if you quick fry with the flour - you will need a 1/2c beef broth or water also added to the crookpot b/c the flour on the meat will thicken even faster. A few hours later - while I'm boiling water for the noodles - I add the "full flavored" sour cream. We like this recipe - method may differ but the ingrediants are the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Followed directions exactly. Found the sour cream overwhelming. Unusually thick too. Easy to make. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was a good recipe. I did change it up a little. I marinated the steak in red cooking wine, salt, pepper, a little lemon juice and chopped onion. I then sauteed it all in a little butter. I then did the rest of the recipe as follows except I did add a little milk to thin it down some. Good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I prepared this and marinated the steak in Merlot and garlic over night as suggested by another reviewer. The meat tasted awesome. As for the rest, very bland! Also, make sure you saute onions FIRST! They were very crunchy. Yuck! Overall was not well received. Won't be making this again. Now if I can come up with something to use the meat, that would be GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States