Beef Stroganoff II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Read reviewer notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moabfun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was very good, except next time I will use a better cut of meat. The sauce however was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I love this! My mom always made stroganoff with ground beef and I hated it growing up, but this has turned me into a believer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ga_betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is almost the same recipe my mom taught me to make, except I don't use flour and I add green pepper and mushrooms. If you add a little water and let the meat simmer it makes a beef broth and then add the soup it is not as thick. Also, this works well in a crock pot but only add the soup no milk or water, it becomes very thin. Add sour cream 5 min. before seving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Made this once before exactly as recipe described (except I didn't drain the meat because the onions need something to sautee in & I added garlic & a little milk)and it was very good except the meat was not as tender as we would have liked. Made again today....I was out of cream of mushroom so used cream of chicken and let it simmer very low for 30 minutes and it was awesome and cut with a fork tender. So I guess if you simmer just a few minutes longer , you will get the desired tenderness that many have complained about in their reviews. Awesome, easy recipe. Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was really good and easy. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was that it was slightly bland, and the recipe didn't call for mushrooms, which is essential to a stroganoff (you can't count the "mushrooms" in the cream of mushroom soup). :)So, I sauteed the onions first, and then I added the meat (which in my case, was chicken instead of beef) - then the mushrooms. Once that was cooked, I added the rest of the ingredients. I also added about 3/4 cup of milk with the soup - otherwise it would have been too thick. I also added granulated garlic and worchestershire for added flavor. This made it really yummy!! I will continue to use this as my base recipe for stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I added a handful of mushrooms to the frying pan with the onions. The dish was delicious- but I would marinate the beef for a few hours the next time I make this. The beef was a bit tough. The sauce was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I used poor mans sirloin . Grond chuck. Tatsed really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
i used to make this recipe the same except i added a little bit of ketchup to it. I didn't ever measure things though, and still don't. I always had a problem with it getting too thick. One way to reduce this is add water and let it sit in the meat and simmer for a while. this makes a somewhat flavorful broth. then i add all the stuff, plus ketchup, pepper, garlic and whoistashire sauce. it's soooo good. i'm actually having it for lunch today. such a good recipe, but when u don't measure it gets too think, so i add water. but soo good just how it is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I'm fairly new to allrecipes but I found this recipe awesome. I did add a few things to change it up a bit. I sauteed my mushrooms and onions in a ton of butter. The sauce was thick so I added 1 1/2 cups of beef broth. But all in all it was a big hit in my home. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saratoga, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States