Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I used this recipe as a base, and added several ingredients of my own. My old man went NUTS over it- said it was as good as his mother used to make him for his birthday dinner 40+ yrs ago. I browned 2.5 lbs of stew beef in a tbsp of coconut oil, seasoned it with Montreal steak seasoning, then diced it into smaller cubes, chopped one large white onion, (could have used two) 24 oz sour cream, 4 oz cream cheese, and 8 oz sliced white mushrooms..served over a bed of wide egg noodles. We had a baby romaine salad with chopped walnuts, feta cheese, tomato with a homemade balsamic and extra virgin oil poured over the top and sprinkled Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I liked it. I only had half the sour cream so I added a can of Mushroom soup. It still had the creamy tecture but added a nice flavor. Would work best with stew meat (I only had stir fry strips on hand). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
used filet mignon cubes; added mushrooms that were cooked in butter and a little sherry (leftovers). floured the meat before frying. helped thicken the sauce which was beef broth, added cream cheese and the sour cream. i know i tweaked this a lot, but the end results were fabulous for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used cream cheese and half the amount of sour cream because I didn't have enough sour cream. It was creamy and rich. My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So very bland. Needed some seasoning of any sort. Made the base recipe and like previous reviews needed to add ingredients to give it any flavour. Added mushrooms, Garlic, bit of paprika. Salt - pepper. Would be a shame for someone who had no clue on cooking to tackle this as their first attempt at stroganoff. They would never make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good. I rolled the beef in flour & paprika, and then sauteed with onions, fresh mushrooms & butter. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup with the sour cream. Then I mixed it with 1 lb. cooked bow tie noodles & a little fresh pepper. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty good for a simple stroganoff. I put the beef in wheat flour (seasoned with salt, pepper, and paprika) before cooking. I also added garlic, sliced fresh mushrooms, paprika, and red wine to the sauce. I used less sour cream (reduced fat) than called for and it came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Ok. Better to look for a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I used this recipe as a starter for my left over steak, I sauteed onion added canned mushroom, I would have preferred fresh, but we were in a pinch tonigh. I used a tsp of beef broth, and a half C. of water, and a little wondra to thicken the sauce less sourcream would have been sufficient, I used half the amount called for and it was still to much. For a last minute use up what we have on hand, the recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States