Beef Stifado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Found this recipe while looking for something different to do with beef stew meat. I was attracted to it because of the spices and how different it sounded. I had to modify it somewhat based on what I had on hand. I didnt have an orange, so added a tiny bit of lemon zest. The only diced tomatoes I had on hand had green chiles in them so I used it. It actually made it quite nice with just a tiny spicy bite to it. I made this in the crockpot and let it cook all day. I didnt have any boiling onions so used regular yellow onions, roughly chopped. I removed some of the liquid after it was cooked and thickened it with flour and added it back in and let it thicken. We ate it over buttered egg noodles and we all loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I saved this recipe last fall (the ingredients were intriguing), but the numerous cooking steps/timing turned-me-off: So, I used a slowcooker. Omitted olive oil, butter, water, chopped onion. I heated all ingredients (used 1.5# stew meat) on stove (to give it a heated head start ) then placed in slowcooker. Wasn't sure if the can of diced tomatoes was supposed to be drained or not, so didn't drain and omitted the 1/2 cup of water. I added boiling onions a top of other ingredients, an hour into cooking, so they wouldn't become mushy. Used pearl onions (as stated in recipe) the second time I made & we liked those better---stronger flavour & sweeter than boiling onions. Cooked on low for 4.5 hours, however it may have been ready in 3.5-4 hours: The meat was extremely break-apart tender. At the beginning of cook time the aroma reminded me of pumpkin pie (no, it doesn't taste a bit like pie)! This dish is very tasty with a nice, mellow combination of spice and orange zest. The sauce is very thin when prepared in a slowcooker, but simple to thicken. Served with sticky rice but egg noodles, or potatoes (mashed or otherwise) would also be a complimentary starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Dee-licious! The orange zest really added something, so don't leave it out. I had 1/2 lb less beef than needed for the recipe, so I used only 1 Tbsp butter and 1/2 lb of pearl onions. Too lazy to peel fresh so I used the frozen pearl onions and still tasted great. I ended up cooking most of this yesterday and refrigerating overnight, then cooking the pearl onions tonight and simmering them with the reheated stew. Came out fine. My only suggestion is that though the gravy is wonderful with those spices and the wine etc., there would barely have been enough if I'd used the full 2 lbs of beef, so you might like to increase your liquid. Thank you for a tasty recipe. Nice change from my usual beef stews. Served it with broccoli and mashed potatoes, but it would be good with noodles or those tiny European dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This "Beef Stifado" was very classy in appearance owing to the presence of pearl onions, and it presented with wonderful "aromatherapy flavors." The combination of red wine, orange peel, cinnamon, and nutmeg was delightful. I liked the orange flavor so much that when the stew as done cooking I added an additional tablespoon of grated organic orange rind that I happened to have in the freezer. I did make the stew a day in advance as per a few recommendations, but I didn't notice any improvement in flavor with sitting. It was equally perfect when I first made it. Thank you Lolly B for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
very good. I wasn't crazy about it the night I made it (hubby and kids were), but I loved it the second night after it had a chance to mellow in the fridge for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was good, but not our favorite meal. We made it exactly as stated and served it with noodles. It is just a bit sweeter than we like, though everyone happily ate it they didn't feel it was worth the work to make it again. However, IF we do make it again we are going to try adding potato and carrot, which my family feels will better compliment the sweetness than the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
very tasty mild flavor; the onions sure do the trick. I replaced wine with chicken stock though. It still turned out pretty awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annkunwar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't have pearl onions, so I used what I had, red onion. I browned the beef, cooked the onions, and put everything into my crock pot and let it cook on low all day. Served over rice, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Hi,my name is Martine, and i work at a College in Illinois and we fixed Beef Stifado for approx. 250 students...and they loved it. Today was Brunch day ( most of it is Breakfast items ) and i fixed the beef stifado with noodles on the side, they eat it all. I for sure will use this recipe at home. thank you Martine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martine Kauffmann-Scarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wanting to use up a package of stew meat, I came across this recipe. I browned the meat on the stovetop, but then added all the ingredients to the crock-pot except the pearl onions. I cooked on low for about 6 1/2 hours. With one hour left, I add the thawed (frozen) onions. The onions were hot at serving time. I served this over brown rice along with a salad, 7Up Biscuits and 'Southern Peach Cobbler' from AR for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States