Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this dish minus mashed potatoes several times and I love it!! It is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I didn't like it and probably won't make again. The "gravy" was very thin and the meat came out tough. I had to come back and see if I missed an ingredient but I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
i loved this, sweet and tangy i added mushrooms and more broth and juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Well I didn't like it because I messed it up. I forgot to put the apple juice or wine. I really think forgetting that last bit of liquid really is what messed it up. Also the veggies weren't as tender as I wanted. The steak was tough. I think this recipe would be really good in the crock pot too. Next time I will do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Yummm!! I didn't bother with the wine (I'm sure it would be fantastic with it) and used homemade chicken stock I had lying around the freezer. I used carrots, parsnips, sweet potato and baby potatoes and didn't bother with the mashed potatoes, it tured out great! 10/10 will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Overall I liked this recipe but the meat came out pretty tough. I used stir-fry sirloin cut up small, and also added green beans for color and crunch towards the end. The broth over mashed potatoes was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was actually pretty incredible. Everything I used was organic, from the meat to the vegetables. I used carrots, sweet potato, and butternut squash. The only thing I did differently is add way more spices since I know I prefer a punchier palette and used cubed beef stew meat instead of sirloin. Super comforting and super filling. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Mmmmm! I made this tonite for a get-together with another couple. Our infant daughters even loved it! I used carrots, parnips, sweet potatoes and a butternut squash. I adjusted the recipe to use 6 cups of vegetables and we still only had 1 serving left over after we were all done, so I would say double what you think you'll need. The veggies cooked up nicely and we used apple juice instead of wine and I would definitely say that you do not need to add sugar. It had great flavor and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
During preparation we decided that the vinegar taste was a little too much for the teenagers, we cut the flavor by adding some sugar and more chicken broth. They devoured the stew, taking second and third helpings. In retrospect I wonder if we should have used the apple juice instead of dry red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Oven-Fried Chicken

Pump up the flavor with this delicious, healthier oven-fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States