Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried the dumpling portion of this using GF flour and my dumplings came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a thumbs up especially when all 3 kids liked it and asked for seconds. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Great stew. I've been making dumplings for over 50 years and its always 10 uncovered and 10 minutes covered. Perhaps it was the cooks problem and not the dumplings. Personally, with no changes it was an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
this turned out pretty good. I did make a few changes tho. I left out the green pepper and mushrooms and used peas. I substitued beef broth for the water. And I used the herbed dumpling recipe from this site. Instead of simmering the meat and bay leaf and then adding the carrots, celery, etc after an hour of simmering, I tossed everything together right away and let it simmer. A nice hearty meal for this dreary day....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Pretty good stuff. Turned out thick, the way i like it. Followed recipe but just had to had more liquid, so I added about 2 cups of beef broth. Love the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was delicious!!! Super easy and very flavorful. I didn't even use the bay leaf and just used some more pepper and salt. I thought that was definitely enough to add to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
A very tasty beef stew. We don't get the biscuit baking mix over here in South Africa so I substituted with the herb dumplings, added an extra cup of water to the stew and ended up with a perfect dinner for 3 adult men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great recipe! Used beef broth instead of water, and added an extra cup of water. Seasoned the beef with montreal steak seasoning before searing, too. Great for a gloomy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States