Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was pretty easy and fast to put together. I did add 2 teaspoons of beef soup base to the water for a little added flavor. All in all - a hot and satisfying meal on this COLD January day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Excellent. Got the receipe from an update from All-Receipes. Tried it the same day. Very tasty. Thanx to Carol J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This recipe is very good. The only thing that didn't make sense was only using 2 cups of water. I can't believe that is the correct amount. It's way too little, you'd never get 5 servings of stew out of that. I ended up using 4 cups, and probably could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Very good overall. I did add a package of McCormick Beef Stew Seasoning Mix (powder) to give it more flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This stew was excellent with a few changes. There isn't nearly enough liquid in this recipe as written. I used two 14 oz. cans of beef broth and about 1 cup of water. I also added extra beef granules for flavor. I left out the mushrooms and they weren't missed. I browned the meat, onions and garlic all at the same time. I used 1 tsp. season salt instead of plain salt and added 3 bay leaves. I let it simmer about 30 minutes after adding the veggies, then another 20 with the dumplings. I used my own dumpling recipe instead of the Bisquick one. This was a delicious meal for a cold winter night. Very tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I have to agree with others, that this recipe is much to dry...needs at least 2 more cups of liquid to make gravy. Good flavor over all. Will probably try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I thought that this was an excellent stew,very tasty. I did not like the dumplings, they fell apart. I should have done as I usually do and make my own dumplings from scratch. I will definitely make this stew again, with my own dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Liked the stew, but the dumplings all fell apart. Would make it again, but not with the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Very good and very easy. Nice too because you don't need beef broth. I seasoned the flour before coating the beef cubes, and next time I'd add a bit more garlic and double the mushrooms. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
We really enjoyed this stew...easy to make and a lot of flavor. I also added 16oz diced tomatoes, some dill, thyme and summer savory. Makes very good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States