Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Great change from chicken and dumplings. Only change was to add 2 more cups of broth. No leftovers with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was great, after a few changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 2 cans beef broth, 1 can water, and a packet of McCormick stew seasoning. I also served it with Italian bread to sop up the deliciousness (instead of making the dumplings). Maybe next time I will add a little flour or cornstarch at the end to make it thicker, and use pearl onions instead of the onion slices. Overall, a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Really good. It's time involved, especially with kids underfoot, but really tasty. I added one beef bouillon cube to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
We really enjoyed this stew...easy to make and a lot of flavor. I also added 16oz diced tomatoes, some dill, thyme and summer savory. Makes very good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Very good and very easy. Nice too because you don't need beef broth. I seasoned the flour before coating the beef cubes, and next time I'd add a bit more garlic and double the mushrooms. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Liked the stew, but the dumplings all fell apart. Would make it again, but not with the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I thought that this was an excellent stew,very tasty. I did not like the dumplings, they fell apart. I should have done as I usually do and make my own dumplings from scratch. I will definitely make this stew again, with my own dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I have to agree with others, that this recipe is much to dry...needs at least 2 more cups of liquid to make gravy. Good flavor over all. Will probably try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This stew was excellent with a few changes. There isn't nearly enough liquid in this recipe as written. I used two 14 oz. cans of beef broth and about 1 cup of water. I also added extra beef granules for flavor. I left out the mushrooms and they weren't missed. I browned the meat, onions and garlic all at the same time. I used 1 tsp. season salt instead of plain salt and added 3 bay leaves. I let it simmer about 30 minutes after adding the veggies, then another 20 with the dumplings. I used my own dumpling recipe instead of the Bisquick one. This was a delicious meal for a cold winter night. Very tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Very good overall. I did add a package of McCormick Beef Stew Seasoning Mix (powder) to give it more flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States