Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Me and my family thought this recipe was absolutely wonderful, VERY tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This stew was very good, even though I didn't add the dumplings. I used green peas instead of celery, green pepper, and mushrooms. I left it to simmer overnight in my slow cooker and it made the whole house smell good. The result is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe is just GREAT....with a few additions. After the onions and garlic cook, I deglaze the pan with red wine. I use beef broth instead of water, and add 1/2 cup of red wine, 2 tbls of worchestershire sauce and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. I also omit the mushrooms and bump the potatoes up to 3 cups. I add chopped fresh rosemary to the dumpling batter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Very good. Great for the holidays because you start it then leave it. My kids loved it. I would add more beef the next time since it came out so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Great recipe, but I too made a few changes. I used 32 oz of beef broth (one carton), e.v.o.o. instead of butter, added paprika and season salt to taste after 30 min. of simmering, no g. pepper(didn't have any), made my own biscuits and added a little flour at end to thicken. It was the first beef stew I made and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
overall good taste but I will make homemade dumplings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Great stew recipe, very flavorful. I made just a few modifications----browned the beef cubes in olive oil instead of butter, used beef broth in place of the water (upped to 3 cups) and used "lite" baking mix and skipped adding the butter, added 3 Tbls. of parmesan cheese instead. Wonderful, will use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Just had this tonight. Awesome! Even the 2kids (5 and one) finished their bowls! I left out the parsley, gr.pep, and mushrooms. Tasted just like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Great change from chicken and dumplings. Only change was to add 2 more cups of broth. No leftovers with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was great, after a few changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 2 cans beef broth, 1 can water, and a packet of McCormick stew seasoning. I also served it with Italian bread to sop up the deliciousness (instead of making the dumplings). Maybe next time I will add a little flour or cornstarch at the end to make it thicker, and use pearl onions instead of the onion slices. Overall, a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States