Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
My family enjoyed this stew very much. I doubled the recipe and made it in a dutch oven instead of a skillet. I also added a packet of onion soup mix and a bit of gravy master seasoning for added color. Made for a hearty dinner on a snowy new england day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Yum!! the leftovers tasted even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very nice recipe. I changed things up a bit, using potatoes, turnip, carrots and green beans as my veggies. Found it to be overall a bit bland. I think if I had had some beef bouillon on hand it would have fixed that problem. Instead of using a biscuit mix, I used the recipe for dumplings from the Chicken 'n' Carrot Dumpling stew. It's not stew without dumplings, and together, they made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSQUEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I did make some changes, a few suggested by other reviewers, and basing my rating on them, so I apologize to the "rating purists"... but I think this recipe would be pretty good even without the changes. Ingredient changes: 1 can chicken broth and 2 beef boullion cubes instead of water, 1 can sliced potatoes plus the water for the cubed fresh potato, and the biggest change was using the Herbed Dumplings recipe found on this site instead of the biscuit mix. I also cooked the meat with the onions and garlic, and added some worstershire sauce and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a good, thick stew. I also used 2 cans of beef broth and then about another cup of water. I doubled the potatos because I didn't have any celery or green peppers. And I used frozen peas instead of mushrooms. I do feel it could have used a bit more flavor, and I think I'll add the red wine and worchestershire next time. I would also personally double the dumplings - there weren't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a good base recipe. Like many others I used beef broth instead of water, increased the garlic and added herbs to the dumplings. I found that the dumplings absorbed most of the liquid, so next time I'll increase the amount of broth too... or make about half as many dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I think this is a really good "base" recipe for beef stew including all the essential ingredients. However, I made a few changes and ended up with dynamite results and lots of flavor. First, I used butter and olive oil to brown the beef because I love the two flavors together! I also browned the beef with the onions and garlic which acted as a seasoning for the beef; without it the meat is bland. Setting the beef aside I cut up my celery, mushrooms, and carrots and threw them in the crock pot. The idea of dumplings was good but I used potato gnocchi you can get right off your supermarket shelf. This took the place of the dumplings and the potato. I threw the meat over the veggies, the dumplings over the meat, added 2 cups of water, a can of low sodium beef broth and a can of french onion soup. Cooked on low setting for 4 hrs and it was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktorres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was great, the whole family loved it. I didn't use mushrooms or green peppers because my kids and husband hate them, but it still tasted great. I didn't make the dumplings, I just used a can of buttermilk biscuits that I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I omitted the parsley and green bell pepper because we don't like them, and threw in a beef bouillon cube. I still thought it was lacking something, so I added a can of Guinness, and let the gravy reduce a little. This gave it some great flavor. I don't know about anyone else, but when I make a stew, I simmer it for about 2 1/2 hours so that the meat is melt-in-your-mouth tender. One hour isn't nearly long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I made dumplings using a different recipe from allrecipes.com (herbed dumplings)as I couldn't find biscuit mix. I added an extra bit of water too. Great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States