Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Great stew recipe. The only reason I would not make it again is that it was so time consuming. I would say definitely more than 20 min prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
My family enjoyed this stew very much. I doubled the recipe and made it in a dutch oven instead of a skillet. I also added a packet of onion soup mix and a bit of gravy master seasoning for added color. Made for a hearty dinner on a snowy new england day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Yum!! the leftovers tasted even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very nice recipe. I changed things up a bit, using potatoes, turnip, carrots and green beans as my veggies. Found it to be overall a bit bland. I think if I had had some beef bouillon on hand it would have fixed that problem. Instead of using a biscuit mix, I used the recipe for dumplings from the Chicken 'n' Carrot Dumpling stew. It's not stew without dumplings, and together, they made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSQUEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I did make some changes, a few suggested by other reviewers, and basing my rating on them, so I apologize to the "rating purists"... but I think this recipe would be pretty good even without the changes. Ingredient changes: 1 can chicken broth and 2 beef boullion cubes instead of water, 1 can sliced potatoes plus the water for the cubed fresh potato, and the biggest change was using the Herbed Dumplings recipe found on this site instead of the biscuit mix. I also cooked the meat with the onions and garlic, and added some worstershire sauce and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a good, thick stew. I also used 2 cans of beef broth and then about another cup of water. I doubled the potatos because I didn't have any celery or green peppers. And I used frozen peas instead of mushrooms. I do feel it could have used a bit more flavor, and I think I'll add the red wine and worchestershire next time. I would also personally double the dumplings - there weren't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a good base recipe. Like many others I used beef broth instead of water, increased the garlic and added herbs to the dumplings. I found that the dumplings absorbed most of the liquid, so next time I'll increase the amount of broth too... or make about half as many dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I think this is a really good "base" recipe for beef stew including all the essential ingredients. However, I made a few changes and ended up with dynamite results and lots of flavor. First, I used butter and olive oil to brown the beef because I love the two flavors together! I also browned the beef with the onions and garlic which acted as a seasoning for the beef; without it the meat is bland. Setting the beef aside I cut up my celery, mushrooms, and carrots and threw them in the crock pot. The idea of dumplings was good but I used potato gnocchi you can get right off your supermarket shelf. This took the place of the dumplings and the potato. I threw the meat over the veggies, the dumplings over the meat, added 2 cups of water, a can of low sodium beef broth and a can of french onion soup. Cooked on low setting for 4 hrs and it was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktorres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was great, the whole family loved it. I didn't use mushrooms or green peppers because my kids and husband hate them, but it still tasted great. I didn't make the dumplings, I just used a can of buttermilk biscuits that I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I omitted the parsley and green bell pepper because we don't like them, and threw in a beef bouillon cube. I still thought it was lacking something, so I added a can of Guinness, and let the gravy reduce a little. This gave it some great flavor. I don't know about anyone else, but when I make a stew, I simmer it for about 2 1/2 hours so that the meat is melt-in-your-mouth tender. One hour isn't nearly long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States