Beef Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
this stew turned out really well, i used mini potatoes. also needed to add about 5 extra cups of water. for my dumplings followed it exactly but added dill to the mixture. this is a very hearty stew and i loved the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I am so happy to find this recipe!! (I had almost the exact recipe years ago, but after multiple moves, I had lost the cookbook it was in.) This is one of our family's favorite meals. With a fairly picky family of 5, the ONLY modification I have is that I only use 2 of the veggies: I double the amount of potatoes and put in a few carrots. GREAT recipe, my whole family is thankful u posted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Unimpressed!! We followed the recipe to the tee, and because it says to uncover for 10 minutes after you put in the dumplings our dumplings are ruined. We called a friend and according to her we are not suppose to have it uncovered at all with the dumplings. Well see how it tastes now. Yah we are not happy considering we followed a recipe and we ended up unhappy! As well as next time i am putting the veggies in at the same time. They took longer to cook then suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Sorry, this recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
5 Stars based on a few modifications: Our family loved this stew!!! I made apple-favored pot roast (a recipe from this site) and used the leftover meat and gravy as a substitute for the meat and broth in this recipe. To the gravy and 2 cups of water, I followed the recommendations to add 1/2 cup of red wine, 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. I added some dried rosemary to the dumpling recipe. In addition, I substituted frozen corn for the green peppers and mushrooms to make it more 1 year old friendly. She loved it! Absolutely delicious and a great way to use leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Really, really good beef stew. I made a few modifications and it turned out to be the best beef stew I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holtville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is a perfect base for traditional beef stew. We change the vegatables up depending on the seasons and we also use deer meat in place of beef when on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I liked the recipe although I did use beef broth instead of water and used frozen diced potatoes. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was good i didnt like the dumplin recipe too well so i used another one but overall the stew was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Great stew recipe. The only reason I would not make it again is that it was so time consuming. I would say definitely more than 20 min prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States