Beef Stew with Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Aroma while cooking is absolutely enticing. Deliciousness followed the aroma. As others have said, not exactly up to twelve servings. I tend to like my stew less soupy so used a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. One question, what is on top of this stew in the picture? This is not addressed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This stew was delicious! I didn't have any vinegar so I left that out and it was great. I also added parsnips. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Love this. I don't have malt vinegar, so I used balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We're quite sorry to be the only dissenting opionion on this to date, but we thought the recipe far too time consuming, and for modest results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Made this last night and it was yummy. Will definitely add this to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was delicious! I've been looking around for a beef stew recipe with beer that wasn't bland and this definitely fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I only loosely followed the quantities, omitted the celeriac and made a few substitutions (regular mushrooms and regular onions instead of portobello and red pearl, "improvised" for malt vinegar, dried herbs instead of fresh) but followed the directions exactly and this turned out great! It was my first time making stew, too. I'm giving it 5 stars for being an easy and forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe is delicious, but after following the recipe I felt it could be simplified. Pearl onions are a pain and expensive, I use diced onions and detect no difference. I used regular mushrooms as a cost saver and again, no discernible difference. And most effective for me to save time, after browning the meat, I placed it in a pressure cooker with the celery root and turnips and carrots and broth for 10 minutes under pressure. Then back to the pot with it all and add the beer. I also used 1 T worcestershire sauce and 1 T double strength tomato paste to add to the glutamates and boost the beef flavor and I used small red potatoes so I didn't have to dice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HannahRose
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The flavors in this stew are incredible! I had trouble finding celeriac so I just diced up some celery, and I use Lagunitas India Pale Ale. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potter Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
FAB recipe, what a hit and what flavours, I made mine with ale, dark beer, I doubled the recipe as I had 8 people to feed including 4 hungry big eater men. Also I added mine to the crockpot to slow cook for the day after the initial browning and boiling. The smell is amazing, never thought I would rave so much about the beer in the stew but its incredible with such a distinctive taste. You could really experiment with any strong flavorsome beer. Bought some crusty french stick bread to serve with it and added a handful of chopped corriander before serving. What a hit! boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States