Beef Stew with Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
PORTION IS OFF!! I rated this recipe 5 stars because it is DELICIOUS! However the 12 servings that this recipe says it yields is WAY off! After following this recipe to the letter I barely had enough for 4 reasonably sized adult portions. I can't stress enough how DELICIOUS this recipe was, soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This stew is FABULOUS! However, the last reviewer is right...the portions are WAY off. I can feed four adults well and have one small serving left over for lunch the next day. I couldn't find celeriac, so used just celery instead and added parsnips - just because my family loves them. I have made this three times now and have used various kinds of beer (whatever I have on had - ALWAYS at least one can or bottle of something dark). It has been great every time. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
absolutely delicious. I couldn't get celery root at the store I was shopping at so I used parsnips and regular celery but everything else I followed to the letter. Just amazing! We fed a family of 5 and still have enough left over for another dinner tonight so I would say the portioning is pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great basic recipe! Made the best beef stew I've ever had. I halved the recipe and added my own twists. Used 1 1/2 sweet onion, cut in chunks; half a bag of baby carrots; no celery root or turnip; one bottle of Guinness beer, added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, about 1/2 cup of quick cooking barley (added the last 1/2 hour of cooking) and used some Montreal Seasonings. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dry and added it when browning the veggies and then a bit more to the stew itself. Did use fresh rosemary at the end. I think the key is to season each layer and gradually build up the taste. Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
FAB recipe, what a hit and what flavours, I made mine with ale, dark beer, I doubled the recipe as I had 8 people to feed including 4 hungry big eater men. Also I added mine to the crockpot to slow cook for the day after the initial browning and boiling. The smell is amazing, never thought I would rave so much about the beer in the stew but its incredible with such a distinctive taste. You could really experiment with any strong flavorsome beer. Bought some crusty french stick bread to serve with it and added a handful of chopped corriander before serving. What a hit! boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I read the ingredients and read the reviews and I was excited about this recipe and ready to go. What I DIDN'T read was all the instructions. I've been pretty much a flour the meat, brown, throw in the rest of the ingredients and walk away for a few hours, crockpot-like. This one is more labor-intensive than that and I was getting kind of bummed because I really had other things to do that day than fuss with dinner. I'm so glad I hung in there though! This was just the absolute best!!! I won't say that I wouldn't try to cut or combine a few of the steps to see if it makes any difference, but I'll tell you what...if it DOES, I will go right back to this one and stop whining! This is a just FANTASTIC stew...the flavors just meld so wonderfully. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I'm craving it as I write just thinking about it. SO tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Wow, this recipe is just amazing! I had never attempted beef stew myself and though this was involved the results were fantastic. I discovered the secret to tender beef is letting it cook for the full duration - I've had stew in the past where the beef is dry and tasteless, and tasting this recipe throughout the process I found that the beef was wonderful after browning but then got tough when first boiled in the beer. The subsequent cooking allowed it to reabsorb the moisture from the stew and become tender again. I used Shipyard Brewer's Brown Ale which had a very robust malty flavor and made a gorgeous brown gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA
Photo by HannahRose
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The flavors in this stew are incredible! I had trouble finding celeriac so I just diced up some celery, and I use Lagunitas India Pale Ale. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potter Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I only loosely followed the quantities, omitted the celeriac and made a few substitutions (regular mushrooms and regular onions instead of portobello and red pearl, "improvised" for malt vinegar, dried herbs instead of fresh) but followed the directions exactly and this turned out great! It was my first time making stew, too. I'm giving it 5 stars for being an easy and forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe is delicious, but after following the recipe I felt it could be simplified. Pearl onions are a pain and expensive, I use diced onions and detect no difference. I used regular mushrooms as a cost saver and again, no discernible difference. And most effective for me to save time, after browning the meat, I placed it in a pressure cooker with the celery root and turnips and carrots and broth for 10 minutes under pressure. Then back to the pot with it all and add the beer. I also used 1 T worcestershire sauce and 1 T double strength tomato paste to add to the glutamates and boost the beef flavor and I used small red potatoes so I didn't have to dice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States